RSS Feed

That’s What You’re Here For.

Posted on

Let’s start things out with a daily devotional, shall we?

My parents have been strong spiritual leaders since I can remember.  When I was a kid, they always took us to church on Sunday mornings, encouraged us to stay involved in youth group, and to grown in our faith.  I can’t imagine growing up any other way, and it baffles me that some kids just don’t get that from their parents.  I heard a quote this past Sunday at church that keeps ringing in my ears…

“Don’t say, “Why doesn’t God do anything about all the suffering in the world?”, unless you’re ready to hear God say, “That’s what YOU’RE here for”.

It’s our JOBS to be the people in the world bringing others to Christ. That’s our purpose!

My day began with a lovely bootcamp session with Miss Jessie.  The focus was mainly on ARMS, which I despise…but it was good for me, so I won’t complain too much. 

Almost 290 calories burned by 6:30AM!  Not too shabby 😉 Max HR 143.

By the time I was finished in the shower, my belly was telling me it needed some fuel.  Breakfast was served!

In the fridge, overnight, I left 1/4 C. oat bran, 3/4 huge baked sweet potato, 1 tbsp. chia seeds, and 3/4 C. unsweet vanilla almond breeze with Splenda mixed in.  By the time I got to eat it, it was like sweet potato cookie dough<3

For just a minute, let’s talk about this ridiculous amount of COLD WEATHER that our area has been “blessed” with.  I have to call it that, because for some reason, God must think we need the snow just a little bit longer 😉  Oh well!  His ways are greater than ours, so…

Onto lunch.

It was basicall a mish-mosh of any and every vegetable I had on hand.  Among these, were steamed broccoli, butternut squash chunks, and little bit of yellow pepper.  For protein, some seasoned black beans and a Light Ragu bath.

This is my “I-don’t-have-time-for-anything-but-the-blowdryer” hairstyle.  Literally, I put Aussie sprunch spray in my hair, or Granier Fructis  spray gel, blow it dry, scrunching it up with my hands, and run out the door.  Bootcamp mornings are typically like that.

A little while later, after our walk break around the captiol complex, I had a snack.

Since I missed out on whole grains at lunch, I compensated by having a Light Flat Out spread with sugar-free peach jam + 1 Sonoma Jack’s pepperjack cheese wedge.  A fruit roll up, if you will.

After work, I came home and planned to do AB Ripper X and some more cardio, but after the first few moves, I literally just laid there and took a nap. I burned uh…71 calories. HA.

When I woke up, I mosied upstairs and decided to put some effort into a healthy dinner

I put the goodies I grabbed at the Broad Street Market to good use in this bowl!  Steamed kale, baby bellas, zucchini, squash, and purple cabbage with a mix of a teeeensy bit of black beans, quorn ground crumbles, and garlic lovers hummus topping.

Mmmm.  YUM.  A food baby was born ❤

Dessert was low-cal light wheat toast dipped in sugar-free Log Cabin syrup.  Like french toast, except without the egg and frying part 🙂

Some of you have been wondering how the nail effects stickons are coming along, so here’s an update:

Going strong!  I’m hoping they stay until Easter. 

I can’t even imagine Easter in these temperatures.  Here’s to hoping it warms up by then!  What are your Easter traditions?  Do you have any?  We hunt Easter eggs with my ENTIRE extended family!  Hopefully it won’t be a snowy hunt, this year.

XO.

 

8 responses »

  1. You are so pretty my dear 🙂 And so right on with every devotional you post. I love them!
    Easter tradition used to involve hiding easter eggs all day, but now that I am married its more like hiding candy from my hubby all day 😉

    Reply
  2. Your breakfast looks FANTASTIC girl. Oh my gosh! I think I’m going to buy some sweet potatoes just to make it, haha.

    Reply
  3. Sami, seriously, you are gorgeous. Like wow.

    Also, SO glad to hear the nails are going well! I am totally going to try these. I’m so hoping they work out well for me! 😀

    And I agree with what you heard on Sunday about US being the answer. It seems so impossible to be able to make a difference when it comes to world hunger and suffering, but in serving and loving where we are, we will bless others. And each life we touch will touch another like a chain reaction. 🙂

    Reply
  4. DiningAndDishing

    We don’t tend do do much for Easter now that my fam is spread out. Last year my roommates and I held a dinner at our house for everyone else who wasn’t going home. It was a super fun day!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  5. NIce morning workout! and YUMMY breakki!! love your posts about your days!
    we dnt rly do much for EAster that I think about it!!

    Reply
  6. You are absolutely gorgeous!!! 😀

    Reply
  7. you have beautiful legs!
    i must find those nail things ASAP! omgsh, they look so amazing!

    Reply
  8. squigglefloey

    Girl, you look gorgeous with your hair like that! So much volume! And those nails sure are going strong. How much does that sticky polish cost?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

