RSS Feed

BLACKout.

Posted on

I guess it’s time to show you guys some of my meals as of lately, since it’s been awhile since I’ve done a regular post.  Breakfasts have been quick and easy, mostly things like Kashi 7 grain waffles and green monsters.

These babies are perfect for optomizing sleep time.  They literally take about 2 minutes to prepare…if that.  150 calories + the sugar free syrup.

Handful of ice, 3/4 C. unsweet vanilla almond milk, supercharge vanilla whey, lots of spinach, and a few blueberries. BAM protein powerhouse.

I realized while I got ready for work the other day that I wear a TON of black clothing.  It’s weird, because I love color…I just always choose a black base and then use colors as accents for some reason?  Is there a specific color that you tend to see as the majority of your wardrobe

It is pretty versatile, so I can easily mix and match it with a lot of different things…

Speaking of color, the flower guy that I bought Momma FF’s birthday flowers from put together quite a beautiful arrangement if you ask me!

She absolutely loved them 🙂  Maybe that’s where I get it… I am a total sucker for flowers. Roses are probably my favorite…completely classic.  I guess I’m a bit old school.  Lilies are pretty gorgeous, too.

Lunches have looked a lot like this:

Seasoned black beans, baby spinach, and forty spices hummus on Nature’s Own Double Fiber Whole Wheat bread.  Can you believe 1 slice has just 50 calories and 5g of fiber?!

Afternoon snackage:

Blackberries are in season!  I’m getting excited.  This means Spring/Summer MUST be close. 

After work, there have been NUMEROUS different forms of exercise to fill my basketball season void.

Ab ripper X : this guy is just as much of a tool as what he looks like here…BUT his workouts are pretty swell.

Then, on Tuesdays and Thursdays, I go to strength training and conditioning with a bunch of guys from school.  Their coach runs them, and is a great motivator. 

Last night afterward, I had class so I had some leftover SOCCA pizza, which I made the night before, courtesy of Chelsey’s recipe, which rocked.

Socca crust (made with garbanzo bean flour), light ragu sauce, cooked mushrooms & onions, spinach, and nutritional yeast for cheese 🙂

She was right, it was SUPER easy to make.

It really filled me up after a two-hour workout, too.  I had never tried garbanzo bean flour before. It was a personal pan size, and the whole thing only ran at about 250 calories.

 And thennnnn in Nutrition class, a bit later, our “protein groups” for the healthy recipe assignment project had to do their presentations, leading up to a tasting of all the dishes.

Three bean salad, tofu confetti chili, honey balsamic bean salad, and protein pancakes.  This photo is a little deceiving since the plate was only about the size of my hand.  Haha. It was perfect for tasting a tiny bit of each thing.  I think my fave was the chili!

Afteward, we moved on to the next chapter, water soluable Vitamins

I think that this one should be fairly simple to understand…there really isn’t much to know about the composition, yet.  More so, the function, absorbtion, and benefits of the body from the vitamins.  Simple.

Well, that’s all I’ve got today. Ta ta for now, loves!

XO.

7 responses »

  1. Brown is one of my staple colors in my wardrobe. 🙂 I also love green, orange, gold, red, etc. Autumn Colors are my kind of colors. 🙂

    Reply
  2. wow so much info on nutrition in these classes im not surprised though! i always tend to wear earthy colors!

    Reply
  3. There’s no way you’re eating enough for your activity level. Please, take it from someone who’s been there–you need to eat SO much more. I’m a long-time follower and EVERY time I read one of your posts I’m appalled at the low amount of calories you consume compared to how much you burn at basketball practices and your after-practice workouts too. You may think you’re being “healthy” by finding the lowest-calorie item on the shelf (like your Nature’s Own bread in this post!?) but really, this restriction is just going to be a detriment to your body and your life in the future.

    Reply
  4. I wear a lot of black too! I can’t help it, I just think it looks the best on me.

    Reply
  5. I have a ridiculous amount of blue in my closet… so does my husband. We have a lot of blue in our house too. I find that we like the color blue… 😛

    Gorgeous flowers (happy birthday to your mom, ps!) and yummy eats!

    Reply
  6. you are soo pretty!!!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Party Yourself Into Shape. « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

