RSS Feed

Presto, Pesto!

Posted on

I have to admit, I used to have a phobia of kale.  It was super intimidating and truthfully, I didn’t care to bother with it…but then I read this article, which proclaimed kale the “queen of greens“.

When I saw the stats for this nutritional powerhouse, I knew there had be be a recipe out there that would allow me to incorporate this scary looking green vegetable into my diet.

One cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, and 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), 40% of magnesium, 180% of vitamin A, 200% of vitamin C, and 1,020% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

 

Low and behold, Ashley, from The Edible Perspective, saved the day with her KALE PESTO recipe!  Her gorgeous photos are enough to convince anyone to try her food 😉

  • 1, 12oz bunch kale [any type], washed + de-stemmed
  • 2T walnuts
  • 3T almonds
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 5T nutritional yeast
  • 3T olive oil
  • black pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • ~2-3T cooking water [from kale]
  1. In a large pot, bring 1.5c water to a boil. 
  2. Add in torn, de-stemmed kale and cover for about 4-5min.  Kale should be wilted but still bright green.
  3. Drain liquid into a bowl and reserve.
  4. In a food processor, process nuts + garlic until fine.

  1. Add in kale and process, until combined.  Scrape the bowl as necessary.
  2. Add in the olive oil, salt + pepper.  Process again.

  1. Add in nutritional yeast + 2T cooking water.
  2. Process again, scraping when necessary, until desired consistency is reached.  Add in more cooking water, a little at a time, if desired.

Mine didn’t come out NEARLY as beautiful as Ash’s, but you get the picture, right?

(8 of 12)

Thanks, Ashley!  This recipe will also be coming with me to my Nutrition class as part of another extra credit recipe! 🙂  All the credit goes to you!

Happy EARTH Day!

[Make sure you hit up Starbie’s for your free cup of coffee!]

XOXO.

7 responses »

  1. LOVEEE PESTO!! i make one qutie similar to this but i add tofu to make it more ‘creamy’!

    Reply
  2. Aw fun!! I’m so glad you like it and I hope your class or teacher does too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh that’s amazing!!! I love kale and I love pesto sooo I must try this!

    Reply
  4. Happy Earth Day, girl! Your pesto looks fab!

    Reply
  5. Ooh I’d never looked specifically at the stats for kale, that’s impressive! I like it when it’s pretty well-cooked, but this definitely looks worth a try 🙂 I am also DYING to try kale chips…

    Reply
  6. Bahahah I used to be so intimidated to try kale too and I don’t even know why! I ended up making some kale chips the other day for the first time and they were deliciouuuus! Maybe I’ll beat the intimidation again with this recipe! 🙂

    Reply
  7. DiningAndDishing

    Looks great! I’m a fan of Kale chips and a garlic kale salad I sometimes buy from Whole Foods but that’s about as creative as I’ve got with it! This might be next :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

