RSS Feed

I’ve Got Soul.

Posted on

As if the fact that it was Friday wasn’t enough to put a smile on my face, a co-worker from another program office with the State sent me this sweet, little hand-written note to thank me for doing a good job 🙂

It makes me feel really good to know that someone appreciates my efforts.  I don’t think she realized how much she brightened my day!

Friday night, I went to dinner with a friend from basketball.  He took me to Red Lobster and we had a really nice time.  Afterward, we just went home to hang out and watch a movie.  “Wanted” with Angelina Jolie was a pretty neat flick with lots of special effects, but I could’ve done without all the “f-bombs”.

With the weekend came some leisurely workouts with Shaun T

andddd some One Tree Hill episodes that I missed out on during the week.

 James Lafferty, you make a great Nathan Scott, but you’ve got some serious competition in the “Cutest OTH Character” department with Austin Nichols as Julian Baker.

UGH. I will be your Brooke Davis anyday of the week 🙂 Ha.

Anywayyy,  I had a hankering for some soup, and found a bottle of French Onion mix in the grocery store.

I was surprised and delighted by the nutrition facts (per 1/2 c. serving- 40 cals, 0g fat, 4g protein) and the simple preparation (just mix with 1/2 c. water!)

I simply carmelized 1/2 an onion in some non-stick cooking spray, added the broth to the pan, and let it simmer for a little while until cooked through.  

I poured the soup over 1 1/2 slices of light multigrain Fiber One bread and of courseee, added a slice of fat free swiss cheese to the top for melty deliciousness.

Mmmmm.

 In other news entirely, I had another great find at Rite Aid this weekend!

Hellllooooo leopard print nailss! These are my favorite of the nail effects prints thus far!

Sunday I got to play basketball for threeee hoursss (and nine minutes ;)) ❤

And burned a crazyyyy amount of calories : 1058! Max HR 187

I had a sister date with the middle for her birthday.  We went to Jade, a chinese buffet and she tried her first piece of sushi!

I wish the would’ve had some with brown rice!  I would’ve enjoyed that.

Instead, I found some seaweed salad and started with that!

I love this stuff and haven’t had it for SO long.

Next, Randa went for some lomein and chicken & broccoli.

While I, on the other hand, took full advantage of the bar where you could mix your own bowl and have it prepared however you like it!  I opted for steaming, of course 🙂

Broccoli, shrimp, green pepper, bean sprouts, mushrooms, and snap peas

I had another plate just like this one, only with chicken instead, and finished off with a tiny cup of no sugar added, reduced fat vanilla ice cream for dessert. 

 

I broke my fortune cookie and left it sit. I was just too full!  I hope that’s not “bad luck”!

After dinner, I treated her to a movie of her choice.  I was excited when she chose Soul Surfer, because I had heard such great things about it.

[source]

The movie was great, actually.  I was worried that it would be a flop since there were an overload of big names in the mix (Carrie Underwood, Dennis Quaid, Helen Hunt, etc.) and sometimes that can be overwhelming, but it was excellent.  I loved the several Bible references and scripture incorporated into the flick!  Totally inspirational…even more so, that it was a true story!

Needless to say, another successful, enjoyable weekend down!  Now for finals week…this should be interesting!

XO.

7 responses »

  1. yay for shaun T! and double yay for caramelized onions!

    Reply
  2. your nails look AWESOME!!!! i so wna see dat movie!

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, that soup looks so good!! I have to try to find this mix. I want it!!

    Reply
  4. I love your nails! 😀

    Reply
  5. I LOVE YOUR NAILS!! 😀 You totally rock them! 😀

    Awe, that was so sweet of your co-worker!

    Reply
  6. your soup looks delicious!! and i want to see soul surfer soo bad! now that you gave it a good review it makes me want to see it that much more hahah. good luck with finals! 🙂

    Reply
  7. DiningAndDishing

    i feel like handwritten notes have become a bit of a lost art in the recent tech boom. they always mean so much though! so sweet that you received one – shows how appreciated you are! 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

