RSS Feed

That’s What I’m Doing These Days…

Posted on

…I’m not sure what sparked the title, but this Rascal Flatts (any other country girls out there?!) song has been stuck in my head for the past few days, and I figured it was perfectly matched with the things in this post! 

Speaking of country, my best friend and her hubby recently had a barn dance that I was invited to! 

I dragged Jarid along to be my partner, and he was a good sport 🙂 

We learned square dances and line dances, too!  It was a blast.

I know I’ve been MIA, yet again, but being finals week, I’m sure you all can understand 😉  Here’s a brief synopsis of what I’ve been up to!

Studying lots of this…

TCA cycle is rather complicated…my final is next Tuesday!

Nowwww, on to the REAL nutrition 😉

Romaine lettuce, sliced purple cabbage, yellow pepper, corn kernels, tomato, broccoli slaw with light lime basil splashes of dressing

Don’t think for a second that I’m letting my eating habits slack during these crazy, busy times. 

Peanut flour paste (1/4 C. peanut flour, splenda, salt, water) + baby carrots

Now is when I need nutrients most!  Brain function is super important and the right foods can totally help!

Shiritaki noodles with meatless Quorn meatballs, steamed sugar snap peas & mushrooms, in a french onion broth

Packed lunches are what get me through the day, sometimes…actually, most times.

I’ve been getting adequate healthy fats through things like avocado & hummus wraps on La Tortilla Factory whole wheat low carb wraps

 And sticking with easy-to-prepare, steamable veggies in a pinch

like these cauliflower babies sprinkled with a little bit of Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning for flava flave.

Other days, I’m craving something a little spicy and pack up goodies like these

2 small low carb La Tortillla Factory wraps with a salad of romaine, cucumber, tomato, yellow pepper – topped with pace salsa & 0% fage greek yogurt and black beans for protein 

NOM.

Well, that’s all the food pictures I’ve got to unload on you, but there’s a lot more going on in my life right now, too…

I made sure I was able to join my Momma for church on Mother’s Day, which was a total blessing.  The kids did their own little presentation of bell choiring!  Too cute.

Not quite as cute as this little guy, though.  Remember when they first brought him home from the hospital?  I’m in awe of how he has grown and how strong he has gotten.  By the time he is 2 yrs., he ought to be completely caught up with other kids his age! A true miracle.

 

We also sang Happy Birthday to Poppa FF, who endured a birthday dinner at my banquet.  I wish we would have gotten to celebrate HIM a little more that day…

Annndddd, you can bet I’ve been playing basketball.

Whenever the weather allows for it, we are outside!  I prefer playing on an actual hardwood court, but it sure is nice to be out in the fresh air once in awhile.

Afterward, I’m super energized.  I think the sun has special powers 😉 

I haven’t been forgetting about Shaun T, either.  On Tuesdays and Thursdays when basketball isn’t going on, there’s a sweat session in my basement with this guy along with the elliptical and my fave TV shows.

In other news,

I gave blood for the first time the other day.  It wasn’t as bad as I had thought!

I hope you aren’t bored to tears, but I think I’ve finally got ya’ll caught up on what you’ve been missing!  Hopefully regular posting will be back soon ❤

What’s the newest news in your lives?!  I miss hearing from all my blogger babes 😦

XO.

 

10 responses »

  1. I feel like we haven’t caught up in forever!!! Glad things are going well!!! Looks like you had a fun mothers day 🙂

    You always have such delicious healthy food! Jealous!

    Reply
  2. ive been missing your post!! i was just thinking last night.. where is FRECKLED FOODIE!! glad to hear from you! looks like uv been having fun!

    Reply
  3. Rascal flatts are my BOYS! They can do no wrong in my mind 🙂 Miss you girl!

    Reply
  4. it’s difficult for me to love cauliflower

    Reply
  5. I wouldn’t have mental energy to blog with that kind of studying to do!! LOL

    Glad you’re still getting some breaks with outdoors and Shaun action. Those workouts look so killer.

    Reply
  6. I love rascal flats!! and anything and everything COUNTRY:) Your salad wraps and that meatless meatball noodle dish are both making me hungry for some savory yummy food! lovvve it! glad you’re staying busy (but in a good way!) and hope you’re getting some sunny sunshine in there as welL:)

    Reply
  7. DiningAndDishing

    Good to see you’ve been well! Best of luck on those finals – I bet you’re ready to be done!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

