RSS Feed

Life Is > Good.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“But since My servant Caleb has a different spirit and has followed Me completely, I will bring him into the land where he has gone, and his descendants will inherit it.” – Numbers 14:24

Things are finally starting to slow down.  I’m finding time to enjoy things that I look forward to the most…like breakfasts like these.

1/3 C. oat bran, 3/4 banana chunks, 1 egg white, sugar-free vanilla Torani, pinch of baking powder, and some water to thin the batter – microwaved for about 2 1/2 min. and smooshed down with some vanilla almond milk ❤

and lunch dates with the wonderful guy who brings me flowers like these

In fact, just yesterday, we took a stroll downtown during my lunch break to grab a bite to eat before his 2nd interview with a company where he is trying to get an accounting position.

 

Neato Burrito was our destination, and here’s what I ordered:

Burrito bowl with brown rice, black beans, cucumber, and lettuce with salsa verde and garlic cilantro salsa plus fat-free sour cream on the side

I love that this place gives you a build-your-own option and that they offer brown rice vs. white, and fat-free vs. full fat. I love a little mexican flair every once in awhile.  The salsas are also homemade and fresh everyday ❤ The company wasn’t all bad either 😉

This snack would probably make Janetha gag, but it was yummy for me!  Just a little fat-free cottage cheese mixed with blueberries & peaches.

Oh, and have I mentioned how much I love having a workout buddy?  Jarid and I have been hitting the gym together. 

We obviously do seperate cardio machines, but we keep each other motivated, doing ab workouts and playing basketball afterward.  And to think, I was totally opposed to workouts with others before…I liked doing my own thing.

It’s also that time again…when summery foods start to look more appealing than ever.  I took a vegetable peeler and made ribbons from a zucchini, diced up some tomato, and drizzled the entire thing in this Fat-Free Lime Basil Dressing.

And for a protein punch, a grilled chicken breast with light Ragu topping and fat-free mozzarella cheese.

Yummm.

Yeah, this three-day weekend coming up isn’t too shabby, either.  I’d say, life is greater than good right about now. 

What are you most looking forward to about Memorial Day weekend?  The boyfriend and I are going to see The Hangover Part II tonight, to Artsfest tomorrow,  and my family has a huge picnic on Monday that I can’t wait for!  The weather is supposedly going to be gorgeous, as well!

If you’re dying for some healthified recipes, check out Hungry-girl’s Memorial Day Survival Guide

Over and out.

XO.

7 responses »

  1. Aww those flowers are so pretty!!

    And I totally agree. I like when restaurants give you the option to be healthy!! 🙂

    Have a fantastic weekend girl!

    Reply
  2. Gosh I wish my hubby would workout with me, but he HATES working out. Owell. He still has large biceps 😉

    Reply
  3. Haha you called it!

    Reply
  4. ugh that blueberry/peach bowl just made my tummy rumble. time to go grab a snacky snack! 🙂

    Reply
  5. i SO wnt that burrito bowl now!! well tis not memorial day weekend here but we do have a bank holiday on monday-woo!

    Reply
  6. Neato Burrito? Love the name! Totally cheesy, but definitely somewhere I’d stop. 🙂

    Have fun this weekend, girl! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Oh, I REALLY want to see Hangover II too! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

