RSS Feed

Well Hey There, Summer.

Posted on

 

Verse of the Day:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. The second is: Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these.” –Mark 12:30-31 

As with the transition from Fall to Winter, I feel like Spring has been skipped over (with the exception of the weeks of straight rain that we’ve had!).  There was no middle ground.  It went from torrential downpours to weather in the 90’s in a matter of hours, in my mind.  Welcome to Summer 2011, everyone.

Breakfasts during summer couldn’t get more refreshing than a cool, sweet protein shake.  This one consisted of a handful of baby spinach, some iced coffee, a Mocha Mint About Time protein packet, a handful of ice, a frozen banana, and some unsweet vanilla almond milk.

In honor of the weather changes, I’ve also changed the nail polish to a “barbie” color, as Julie would call it.

Hot pinkk with matching toes!

To me, bright colorful pinks, oranges, and yellows scream SUMMERTIME.

Snackage at the desk once I got to work was two slices of multi-grain light fiber one toast & forty spices hummus (only 50 calories a pop).

 

 

And as I mentioned yesterday, the perfect light lunch is necessary for these humid afternoons.

Shredded romaine, tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, purple cabbage, and grilled chicken breast.

I felt kinda tropical once I added the peach-mango salsa (from Costco).

I enjoyed two brisk walks throughout the day (each about 20 minutes) with my girl friends at work. 

And I just had to show you my little pineapple air freshener hanging from the rear view mirror of my car.

Afternoon snacking took place around 3pm and was a classic favorite.

Gala apple + baby carrots dipped in peanut flour paste

Crisp, juicy apples are one of the many fruits that I crave when it’s hot out, along with cantaloupe and watermelon!

When I arrived home, I brewed some more iced coffee to replenish the stash I keep in the fridge.  This time, there was nothing more appropriate than Campfire S’mores roast by Cafteá.

 Can you guess what took place next?  As if I’m not totally predictable in my scheduling…

Is it just me, or do you wear less makeup when you’ve got a bit of color, too?  I tend to stay away from the “perfected face” look and go more natural in the warm months.  Funny faces in the gym mirror are obvious and necessary.

494 calories; max hr 164

Here’s what I did:

  • 10 min. on the dreadmill (warm up – intervals between 6-9mph)
  •  1 hr. on the Cross Ramp
  • Ab work (planks, crunches, v-ups, in-and-outs, etc)
  • Hip adductor/abductor machine (3 sets of 15 each)
  • 3 sets of 15 pushups

Thennn, Jarid showed up and we went to grab a bite to eat at Subway.

I got my go-to turkey sub on whole wheat with lettuce, tomato, mustard, green pepper, cucumber, and sweet peppers

Jarid got the chicken-bacon ranch with all kinds of stuffings.

After we dined at the park, we went back to the YMCA for a little walk around the development close-by.  It was a beautiful night ❤

I can’t believe it’s already Friday tomorrow!  Don’t you just love short work weeks?!

1. Do you have a “regular” sandwich that you ALWAYS opt for at places like Subway, or do you try something new each time? I’m a faithful turkey sandwich lover.

2. What is your favorite flavored coffee and who makes it? My all-time favorite summer flavor is Green Mountain brand Island Coconut coffee.

Xo.

 

9 responses »

  1. Holy moly that coffee sounds amamzing!! I usually don’t buy flavor coffee unless I’m at a coffee shop, but I really should start buying the grounds for home!! I have a vanilla biscotti right now by folders that is pretty much amazing 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love that pink nail polish! So fun for summer!

    I usually get some kind of veggie or hummus sandwich. (Tough when you’re a vegetarian, not a lot of sandwich options!)

    I love the dunkin doughnuts french vanilla roast!

    Reply
  3. I am absolutely LOVING summer! Ah, this is my favorite time of year for sure. 🙂

    Reply
  4. All I crave are smoothies and shakes as well! Good idea on putting coffee in yours!

    PS. This is my first time reading your blog, and I love it 😀

    Reply
  5. hey sammie! its been a while since i’ve commented…but i always love your blog posts…its like your a freckled version of me! 🙂 you literally eat almost all my fave foods! 🙂 and you clearly have a heart for the Lord! 🙂

    Keep letting your light shine girly! 🙂 xoxox

    Reply
    • Hey Katie, girl! 🙂 I’ve missed your comments! I know how life gets sometimes, though…SO busy. I’ve thought the same things many times while I’m reading your blog! Our families are very similar as well! Hope you have a wonderful weekend! And thanks for coming back to say hi! xo.

      Reply
  6. I love turkey sandwiches, too! I’m not a big coffee drinker, but I love mocha skinny frappuccinos! 😀

    Reply
  7. DiningAndDishing

    i love freckles!! so in the summer i wear little make up to show off the few i’ve got :). jealous of yours – they are beautiful!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Ode To Peanut Flour – Giveaway! « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

