RSS Feed

Bring On The Sunshine.

Posted on

The best days start with award-winning bread.

If you don’t believe me, you’ve probably never tried Rudi’s Organic Bakery products for breakfast.  Trust me on this one, if you’re not a morning person, you will be after fixing a breakfast treat on one of their Multi-grain English Muffins with Flax.

Try them with some sliced banana and sugar-free strawberry preserves.  You’ll thank me later 😉

I had an eye-opening devotional this morning, too…

I couldn’t agree more!  It’s easy to run to God when things are going wrong to ask for help, but how many times do we spend time with him when things are going well?  Definitely something I need to work on…

My walking buddy and I took a gorgeous stroll in the sunshine down by the river today…two, actually, on our breaks at work.  I’m so thankful to be out of this rainy weather phase!

Lunch was eaten in four courses.

Course  #1: sweet potato steamed in the microwave and mashed with sugar-free vanilla Torani syrup + cinnamon

Course #2: romaine based salad with avocado, sliced baby bell peppers, and cucumber + free zesty italian dressing

 

Course #3: a few slices of Oscar Meyer Cajun Seasoned Deli Chicken

Course #4: Dessert!  Sugar-free orange jello cup

Yes, it’s a lot of food 🙂 On my way home from work, I stopped at the Farmer’s Market to replenish my vegetable stock that was slowly diminishing over the week’s time.

Big bag of baby spinach, bananas, spaghetti squash, kiwi, avocado, broccoli, turnips, apples (gala & fuji), and snap peas

I do my best to support local farmers when I can! Alll of this fresh produce for $13.81. 

 

I had a snack at the office around 4PM before heading to basketball open gym

Peanut flour paste (1/4 C. peanut flour, salt, Splenda, water to thin) + a gala apple

I’m sorry if you’re tired of seeing this snack, but it’s a favorite!  Speaking of which, I should probably order more peanut flour soon…

Anywho, basketball was fantastic.

In a matter of two hours, I burned 1,007 caloriesIncredibleee.  Best.workout.ever.  I did miss my workout buddy, though…

I was feeling rather lazy, so instead of cooking, chinese food saved the day.

Steamed shrimp and vegetables with light sauce on the side

I literally have this meal at least once a week and have yet to get tired of it.

I knew my muscles would thank me in the morning if I downed a bit of casein rather than having a glass of milk before bed, so I opted for a KEY LIME protein shake for my dessert.

Yummmmm-oooo; in the words of Rachel Ray.

Here’s what went into the blender bottle:

  • 1 scant scoop of cookies n’ cream casein protein powder
  • 5 ice cubes
  • 1 handful baby spinach
  • 4 tbsp. 100% lime juice
  • 2 Splenda packets
  • 1/4 C. fiber one cereal
  • 1/2-3/4 C. water for blendability

You’ve gotta try this…I think next time I’ll add some unsweetened coconut, too!  So refreshing!

I may or may not have downed a Rudi’s Sweet Wheat bagel at 11Pm, too…those 1,000 calories that left my body on the court were calling out for carbs! 🙂

1. What’s your favorite smoothie combination? Depends what I’m in the mood for, but some of my addicitons as of lately are mocha mint and key lime.  I love to add fiber one cereal to my shakes!  It’s like those ice creams that have graham crackers mixed in.

2. Any exciting weekend plans? Jarid and I are going to the gym together today after work and then the drive-in’s tonight!  I’m excited…We’re seeing Insideous & Thor!

XO.

7 responses »

  1. I’ve never tried those products before, but that’s probably because I’m cheap and they are over 2 bucks! Lol

    Reply
  2. Yay for sunshine! Have I mentioned how much I love you and your peanut paste!? 🙂

    Reply
  3. I literally just got back from the Gratz Auction and I got a crapload of veggies for about $15. Gotta love farmers markets.

    Also… What in the world do I make with turnips?

    Reply
    • I went to the farmers market at the Farm Show at lunch today and picked up some white cherries and peaches. I just noshed on a peach and was slightly bummed by how flavorless it is. Must not be peach season (I know nothing about fruit and when they peak).

      My big weekend plans…hmmm….well, Fitness Fest at Fort Hunter tomorrow morning (are you coming?!?) and spending time with my beau 🙂

      Reply
  4. I LOVE sliced bananas and strawberry preserves on my english muffins! this is one of my go-to breakfasts. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Have fun at the drive-in tonight!! I love drive-in movie theaters! They are such a fun experience! 🙂

    Reply
  6. OOH, I haven’t been to a drive-in in YEARS. They’re really hard to find there, but I think there’s a restaurant somewhere in Brooklyn that does it… hope you two have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

