RSS Feed

Overload: Part II

Posted on

Sunday morning was the same as most, started off with Ab Ripper X

Followed by some elliptical action while watching “The Ugly Truth” OnDemand,

and finally breakfast & a shower.  I don’t know why, but lately I’ve been forgetting to photograph these meals. 

Actually, I’m so rushed that I feel like I don’t have time.  I’m usually mixing a protein shake and running around the house trying to get ready for church.

 It was a nice service that honored the graduates from Christian-Life Assembly, and was all about “defining moments”, character, and compassion.

 Afterward, the boy went home to nap, and I ate a brief lunch, followed by preparations for this week’s lunches:

Spaghetti squash steamed in the microwave and flaked with a fork.

Next, dumped into a portable tupperware container for the work week!  I’ll probably end up eating this with light Ragu & fat free cottage cheese at some point.  Probably my favorite way to consume.

I also made Katie’s Miscellaneous Quinoa Salad

I modified it a tad, according to the ingredients that I had onhand, but for the most part I had everything:

    • 2 cups broccoli, chopped
    • 2 celery stalks, sliced
    • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
    • 1 zucchini (raw), sliced
    • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
    • 1/8 C. sliced almonds
    • 1 cup quinoa

    • 3 T olive oil
    • 5 T rice vinegar
    • ¼ cup water
    • 1 T Dijon mustard
    • 1.5  tsp. honey
    • 1 sprinkle garlic powder

 ^ for the dressing

I was a busy little bee!  Next, I hit up the grocery store.

 Here are the goods: 8th Continent Light Original Soymilk, Oscar Meyer Cajun Seasoned Chicken Breast lunchmeat, Fiber One Light Multi-Grain bread, Eggland’s Best eggs, La Tortilla Factory Smart & Delicious Low Carb High Fiber small whole wheat wraps, Steamfresh green beans, california blend, and broccoli, Nature’s Promise Organic baby spinach, 3 gala apples, organic tomatoes, no sugar added fudge pops, Sonoma Jack’s light pepperjack cheese wedges, fat-free cottage cheese, Strawberry Oikos, and Pineapple & Lemon Chobani

 Around 4pm, my girl Lyndsie came over for a visit!  She was in Europe for her last semester studying abroad (CHECK OUT HER ADVENTURES THERE, HERE!), and this was the first I had seen her for quite some time!

 The sweet girl that she is, she came bearing gifts 🙂

She brought me back handmade soap in the most adorable laced up bag that was crafted by women in Turkey!

How neat, right? It was so good to see her and catch up on all that we had been missing in one anothers’ lives.  I can’t wait to spend more time with her this summer while she’s home from college!

We hung out on the patio for awhile, and then Jarid came over to play.  Ha.

You thought I was kidding?

You thought wrong.

We got our bathing suits on and got in the pool for a little while, but was quickly scared away by the setting of the sun, aka COLDness.

 Okay, so I was the scared one.  I couldn’t help it!  I was freeeezinggg…you could see goosebumps all over me! 

For a brief time, I had my very own pool boy, though.  Hahaha.  I hope you see this and love it, Jarid 😀

 After the pool, we went for a little walk since it was such a perfect night, and when we returned, we put together some dinner and ate on the deck.

Picture perfect, I’m telling you.  Couldn’t have ended my weekend any better ❤

XO.

8 responses »

  1. This is going to sound so ridiculous, but I am so interested in trying spaghetti squash but so intimidated to make it without someone showing me how…if I buy the ingredients, would you be interested in coming over for dinner one night and making it with me? 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love Ab Ripper X! (Well, I hate it, but I love it, haha)

    You and your man are ADORABLE! Seriously, super cute. Love it!

    Reply
  3. Awwww you guys are so cute! Seriously! Glad you had fun (briefly) in the pool, haha! 🙂 And that little lace bag for the homemade soap is TOO cute!

    Reply
  4. I love Spaghetti Squash!!! 😀

    You have an elliptical at home?!

    Reply
    • I do! My aunt bought one awhile ago, and she never used it. I bought it from her for DIRT cheap! 😀 LOVE IT! Esp. when I don’t have time or feel like leaving for the gym. Perfect for weekends and early mornings! xo.

      Reply
  5. Glad you tried the quinoa salad…did you like it?! I had to add more dressing after the first day, it was a little bland after sitting for a while.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

