RSS Feed

Great Intentions

Posted on

Great Intentions

READY: 

“…for, the training of the body has a limited benefit, but godliness is beneficial in every way, since it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.” – 1 Timothy 4:8

Breakfast: Rudi’s Organic Multi-grain English Muffins with Flax, 1 Sonoma Jack’s light pepperjack cheese wedge, and two spoonfuls of sugar-free lite cherry pie filling

SET: 

I recently had breakfast with one of my good friends, Dave Jenkins, and we were talking about the show “The Biggest Loser” and how so many people buy fitness equipment and then never use it. He shared this quote with me: ”The world has all these great intentions. Too bad most end up in the basement unused.” How true. Even in my own life, I’d started to workout, lose weight and get back in shape many times only to stop way too soon. All those efforts fall into the “great intentions” pile.

In 1 Timothy, Paul urges Timothy (who might have been a good athlete) to teach others to focus on spiritual training because it will reap more benefits than physical training in the end of this life and in the life to come. Many young believers start out on fire and growing in the ways of Christ, but as each day passes, like our physical training routines, we get lazy and complacent and stray from our initial desire to get one day better. In this case, to get one day better in Him and closer to Him.

Since our physical life is paralleled by our spiritual life, it begs the question of where we should turn. How many times do we start to read our Bible daily, do our devotions, pray with our families, pray with our spouses, etc., but we fall short and are left with nothing more than great intentions?

What do you want to do about all these great intentions? I know what my desire is: to turn them into great accomplishments for God’s glory. Undone intentions really don’t mean a thing and will not get you where you want to go in life. Start today to turn these intentions into action plans that, with accountability, will become a part of your regular day-to-day life. You can do it, and you can honor God in the process!


Lunch: Katie’s Miscellaneous Quinoa Salad atop a bed of baby spinach

GO: 

1. Have you ever purchased fitness equipment that you intended to use, but wound up casting aside?
2. How does your spiritual life compare to your physical life?
3. What do you need to do today in order to turn your great intentions to amazing accomplishments with God’s help?


Snackage: 1 fuji apple + peanut flour paste (1/4 C. peanut flour, sea salt, & splenda)

WORKOUT: 

Psalm 33:11
1 Corinthians 9:24-27
Galatians 5:17

Dinnerrr time

A vegetable peeler comes in handy

Creating pretty little ribbon-like zucchini noodles


Which can be bulked up with some cherry tomatoes, snap peas, and anything else you want to throw in the mix.  I think chickpeas or grilled chicken is my favorite protein in this dish!  Tofu might be yummy, too 🙂

Finish off the dish with a light, summery dressing like Kraft Free Zesty Italian

Just 15 calories in 2 tbsp!

Not the most fabulous ingredients list, considering high fructose corn syrup is the second ingredient, but you win some, you lose some 🙂 

**IF YOU HAVEN’T ENTERED YET, MAKE SURE YOU DON’T MISS OUT ON THE CHANCE TO WIN THIS FANTASTIC COOKBOOK!

XOXO.

6 responses »

  1. i always have grand recipe intentions. there are bags of unused flours, grains, beans, etc in my pantry that i bought with the idea of trying out new recipes – only to stick to my basics! thanks for reminding me of my forgotten intentions – time to get back in the kitchen!

    Reply
  2. Very inspiring post! It’s a good reminder to remember the things we wanted to do and actually follow through.

    Speaking of intentions! The cookbook giveaway sounds great! The chai tea latte definitely sounds like a winner!

    I’ve also mentioned your give-away on my blog! Have a great day =)

    Reply
  3. DiningAndDishing

    i have a couple of work out DVD’s that are still in their wrappers! i am good about working out regularly but don’t always feel inspired to switch things up too much. just have a couple of fave DVD’s i keep on rotation :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  4. What an awesome post! I stumbled over from Toni’s blog…I had no idea you were such a foodie 😉 Your blog is very motivational, and I can’t wait to try some of your recipe ideas. I’ll be visiting often 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hahaha I totally agree that you win some and you lose some. Sometimes I eat packaged food with bad ingredients… but it’s not like I’m chowing down on a bag of little debbies or something. I just love me some wheat thins. Or goldfish crackers. I can’t help it 🙂

    Reply
  6. I have REALLY got to try making zucchini/squash ribbons like that. I keep forgetting to try. the HORROR!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

