RSS Feed

Paradise Part 1

Posted on

I know it’s taken awhile for me to get these pictures uploaded, so let’s get things started, shall we?  Before the vacation could start, we went to support our cousin, Allison at her graduation.

She is a great soccer player and will be attending PSU Harrisburg next year, joining their team!  It was pretty cool that my Dad had the opportunity to present her with her diploma since he’s on the school board 😉

Afterward, there were photos and tears.  The party came to our place afterward for a campfire & reception.

Before I left for vacation, the boyfriend took me on a date.

Since we wouldn’t be seeing each other for about a week & 1/2, it was deemed necessary to have a date night…this was complete with chinese food

steamed mixed vegetables with shrimp

and Kung Fu Panda 2…in 3D 😀

[source]

After a wonderful send off, it was time to get the roadtrip started…My sister, Myranda & I were driving down together in a car by ourselves for the first time.  Typically, we go with our parents, but they were going to a tournament of my youngest sisters’ first and wouldn’t be getting to the beach until a day later. 

When we arrived in the Outer Banks, it was about lunchtime, and this little guy was hungry so we made a pitstop at Pizza Hut.  We had been traveling with my Godparents, my best friend, and her family…which included Bowman 🙂  His first beach trip was SO exciting!

Anyway, lunch looked like this…

Not too bad for a Pizza Hut salad bar, huh?  My thoughts exactly 🙂

When we finally were able to check in at our beach house, I decided to take a tour so you all could see it.

Welcome to Blue Point at milepost 16.8 in Nags Head, NC. 

There were three floors, of which, my bedroom was on the second. I was bunking with Allison (my cousin), and my two sisters…plus, my sister’s boyfriend, Braxton.

We were right across the street from the ocean and could see it from our deck. 

The kitchen was on the top floor,

but there was a little mini prep area on the 1st floor that I took full advantage of using for my grocery stock. Yep, you better believe I brought my Oster blender. How else would I make my protein shakes in the morning?! 🙂

 I filled the cupboards with goodies from home, too!  Most mornings, my Godfather picked up donuts for the house to nosh on for breakfast and dinner, most people in the family went out to eat, except my immediate family.  It was just fine with me because cooking and meal prep is limited while I’m at home due to such a busy schedule.  It was nice to have time to prepare and sit down to enjoy my meals while on vacay.

The goods included: Fiber One cereal, Coconut Macaroon coffee (a la Target), Seaweed Snacks, Nature’s Own whole grain bread, Udi’s Gluten-free Vanilla granola, Eat.Think. Smile Crispy Thins, About Time protein powder, xanthan gum, dark unsweet cocoa powder, vitamin water zero, mini clif bars, Pepsi Max, oat bran, Amy’s low fat split pea soup, and some various light dressings.

The game room/pool table, also in the same vicinity as the mini kitchen.  That little table is where I ate most of my lunches!

Most of the time we were there, either baseball or the weather channel occupied the television, with the exception of Monday night, which obviously had to be on ABC for the Bachelorette.

Just another shot of the family room….I’ve always loved how summer homes and beach houses are decorated.  Such bright, happy colors 🙂

As usual, the house also had a pool and hot tub in the back, which the kids took full advantage of.  I spent most of my time on the beach (I can go to a pool anytime, right?), but I did get a nice pool workout in on the last day we were there!  I think this was the first year I didn’t step foot in the hot tub! 

After the tour, everyone settled in, unpacked, and ordered pizza…

I put my freshly bought produce to good use and whipped up a yummy dinner that I’ve been wanting to try for EVER now. 

KELP noodles, a la Elise (<–genius)

  • mashed peas
  • mashed avocado
  • rinsed kelp noodles

For those of you wondering, I’ve been trying to incorporate foods into my diet that have been linked to thyroid health, since I read the book “Must’ve Been Something I Ate“.  The winner of the book still hasn’t claimed her prize, so I’ve decided to pick another winner…

CONGRATS, MARIE 🙂  Please email me your address and I’ll ship you your prize book STAT!  You guys really should check out her blog, Chocolate-Covered Chaos.  It is awesome! 

Annnnnd there’s recap #1!  Stay tuned for numero dos!

XO.

6 responses »

  1. Can you buy Kelp noodles at Giant? Or do you have to find them online?? That dinner looked AMAZING!!! ❤ peas & avocado!

    Reply
  2. I don’t know how in the world you managed to eat so healthy at pizza hut! I’m impressed!

    Reply
  3. Did you like Kung Fu Panda? I’ve been thinking of seeing it.

    Reply
  4. i love those kelp noodles! heating them up cuts down on the … yuck factor! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: What Drives You? « The Freckled Foodie

  6. Pingback: Wedding Progress. « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

