RSS Feed

Grabbers.

Posted on

There are days when I feel like so much of my life revolves around the wrong things…you know, worldy things that in the end won’t matter at all

Overnight quinoa: 1/3 C. cooked organic quinoa, 1/3 C. unsweet vanilla almond milk, 1/2 C. fat free cottage cheese, cinnamon, & Splenda

Granted, focusing on healthy, wholesome foods isn’t a bad thing.  I am by no means saying that we shouldn’t take care of the bodies God gave us…

In fact, I’m quite proud of my bulging biceps…all for His glory, of course 😛  I like to think that God is pretty proud of the fact that I’m “honoring my body as my temple” (-1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

Spaghetti squash, fat-free cottage cheese mixed with 1 tsp. Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning, cherry tomatoes, & peas

What I am saying is that we shouldn’t fixate on any one thingexcept HIM (: Easy to say, not so easy to do. 

Red beet & cucumber salad with apple cider vinegar + Splenda

There are SO many GRABBERS out there that steal away our attention.  Boyfriends, gym time, families, work, blogging, etc.!

Peanut flour paste (1/4 C. peanut flour, 1 Splenda packet, & salt) + baby carrots

Anything and everything can become an idol in our lives if we allow it.  

Smoothie in a bowl: AtLarge Nutrition Vanilla protein powder, 1 1/2 handfuls of baby spinach, 1 C. frozen strawberries, xanthan gum, liquid stevia, and topped with Fiber One cereal

 What brought this to my attention, you might ask?  This devotional that I read today:

Heart United with God

Read Psalms 86:1 through 88:18; Acts 27:21–44

Like a flea on caffeine, our minds jump from one distraction to another: cell phones, the news, a shiny sports car, or mind-numbing TV shows. Should we shut ourselves away in a dark closet to focus on God? Maybe. But, what about the light under the door, that curious noise, or our own random thoughts?

Teach me your way, O Lord, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name (Psalm 86:11).

How our enemy loves to draw us away from God and His truth. Little thoughts creep onto our minds. What if I fail? What if terrorists strike our country? What if I have spinach in my teeth? Where our thoughts go, our hearts follow if we are not vigilant. It is hazardous to live life with one eye on the world and one on God. Serving God requires deliberate choice and the Holy Spirit’s power to keep our hearts united with God, despite life’s daily attention grabbers.

 

XOXO.

3 responses »

  1. Beautiful post. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Reply
  2. Check out those guns girl! 🙂

    This post was amazing. Absolutely beautiful.

    Reply
  3. Such a great reminder. I’m ALWAYS finding myself distracted with something, especially when I feel like there are things I haven’t fully given to the Lord. I’m getting better, but every day is a new journey!

    Loved this post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

