RSS Feed

Too Close For Comfort.

Posted on

This little survey is just something to hold you all over until I get my birthday weekend pictures uploaded completely 😉  I want to do the time I shared with the people I love this weekend justice, so I’m taking my time to perfect the posting.

Sometimes I avoid getting too personal on the blog, but this time, I figured what the heck.

I got this from Janetha, who got it from Caitlin!

1. What are you really good at? What are you really bad at?

I’m good with words.  Word games, grammar, and spelling.  I will always remember that my parents always spoke to my sisters and I like adults, using extensive vocabulary.  Even though they realized we wouldn’t know what exactly the word meant that they were using, we were self-taught to use context clues or to ask questions. 

I’m really bad at balance in general.  I’m more of an all-or-nothing kind of person, and moderation doesn’t come easily to me.  I think this could be the reason behind my insane workouts (sometimes), volume eating, and one speed – fast.  I wish I could be better at intuitive eating, too. 

2. Have you ever been in a car accident? What happened?

Unfortunately, two.  The first one was my fault and happened my senior year in high school on Easter.  I was on my way to visit my Aunt pretty late at night and just got barely off the road enough that the lip of the asphalt pulled me off the road.  It didn’t help that there were trees about two inches away from the road.  I hit a tree and totaled it.  The second, I was rear-ended by a Coca-Cola truck.  Apparently he thought he could speed up and ride my tail through a yellow light…the only problem was, I planned on stopping, not thinking I could even make it through.  My entire back windshield was shattered and my GMC Jimmy was in the shop for awhile being repaired.

3. Why did you attend your college?

The first college I went to, Georgian Court University, I went simply because I thought it was my best option to play basketball for money…They offered me an 85% scholarship and I was smitten after visiting the campus and hearing all the promises that the coach made me.  I actually hated it there.  I’m going to Harrisburg Area Community College while I’m working now, for Nutrition & Exercise Science and I absolutely love it.  Mainly, I’m going because I want to be able to pursue my passion…playing basketball for fun again is just a perk that God provided (:

4. Describe your morning routine today.

It varies.  Monday & Wednesday I know I’ll get a good workout in playing basketball after work, so I sleep until about 6:40AM, get dressed, brush my teeth, do my hair, eat breakfast, pack up my lunch, and head out the door.

Tuesdays, Thursdays, & Fridays, I wake up around 5:30AM to do Insane Abs or Ab Ripper X, followed by biking and elliptical work.  Then, I shower, and go through the same routine as above.  More often than not, it also includes a trip to our Keurig machine for some caffeine.

5. Have you ever snooped through someone else’s things? Did you find anything interesting?

I’ve checked out text messages in the past, and I used to read my sister’s diary when I was younger.  I don’t know why I got such a kick out of the things she wrote, but for me, it was pleasure reading.  She caught me a few times, but I never found anything extremely embarassing or unnerving.

6. What do you think happens when you die?

When I die?  Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m going to Heaven, thanks to God’s mercy and forgiveness.  Unfortunately, not everyone will get this oppotunity if they’ve denied His love or rejected Him.  Don’t believe me?  You don’t have to.  It’s in the Word of God:

John 3:16For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

John 14:6 “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

Romans 10:9-10 “For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

 7. Are you superstitious?

Not in the slightest.  God is in control.

8. Do people think you are younger or older than you actually are?

People always think I’m younger than 23.  In fact, last year at ArtsFest, there were seperate prices for children (being 12 or younger) and adults.  As I approached the table, she said, “child?”

9. How did your parents’ relationship influence you?

They are the ultimate example of persistence and unconditional love.  I’d say they’ve taught me to never give up on someone that you love.  Their relationship with one another, and with other people in our family has been one of trials and triumphs, but through everything they are still together…it’s been 24 years as of August 1st!

10. What were the three happiest moments of your life?

This is a tough one!  I’ve been blessed enough to have several happy moments throughout my life.

  1.  The basketball game that I scored my 1,000th point.  It was such a feeling of relief and excitement after having two broken wrists for the first 3/4 of my senior season.  Celebrating with all the people I loved so much was a blast.
  2. Leading children to Jesus while we were on missions trips during the youth group years.  If you haven’t experienced this kind of moment, I can assure you, nothing compares…ever.
  3. The day I found out that Bran’s cancer was gone and that she would be coming home from NYC after battling a 1 in a million case.  It was literally nothing short of a miracle.  Again, unless you’ve been in that kind of situation, watching your childhood friend hurt and suffer, wondering if she would live to experience all the good things life has to offer with you, you cannot imagine the joy I felt when I heard the news.

Now it’s your turn! Riddle me this…

What do you think happens when you die?

What are you really good/bad at?

XO.

 

6 responses »

  1. Fun to read your take on this 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m bad at balance too! I’m totally an all or nothing person!

    Reply
  3. I know what you mean about people always thinking you are younger than you actually are, haha!

    Reply
  4. If you go to HACC, we HAVE to meet up sometime this year! I go to school at Ship!

    Reply
  5. People always think I am older. Don’t worry–seeming younger is a good thing, especially as you grow older! 😀 One thing I really like is Math. Haha, it just clicks for me.

    Reply
  6. i’m so bad at taking a break to just relax! speaking of … i think i’m going to go chill out for a bit! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

