RSS Feed

‘Tis The Season

Posted on

It’s that time of year again!  This weekend, I put away my summer dresses, shorts and tank tops, and pulled out the cashmere sweaters, corduroys, and boots.

Along with the clothing change, my food choices transition, too.  Smoothies lose their appeal, cold, raw veggies become less appealing, and even fresh melon isn’t nearly as tempting.  When the temperatures drop, my body craves warm comfort foods like roasted vegetables, soup, and oatmeal.

Brussel sprouts, asparagus, mushrooms, parsnips, sweet potatoes, red peppers, broccoli, & squash

You name it, I’ll roast it

There are some wonderful fall recipes floating around the blogworld already that I’ve got on my “to make” list:

Janetha’s Sweet Potato Shephard’s Pie

Caitlin’s Pumped-Up Corn Casserole

Katie’s Almond Coconut Macaroons

Meghann’s Brie, Apple & Pecan Pizza

Allie’s Chickpea Blondies

This weekend, I kind of cheated when prepping for our family reunion…boxed soup mixes are always so convenient, though!

I picked this up at Target awhile back and decided it was finally time to try it out. 

I liked the nutrition stats… 7g protein, 7g fiber

And the ingredients list was pretty wholesome!  All recognizeable, simple ingredients.  All I had to do was add some chicken stock, which I found at Target as well, simmer it on the stove top, and let it work its magic.

I made some of my own additions too, including some baby spinach, chopped up okra from the farmers market, salt, pepper, and Coleman Natural Italian Parmesan Chicken Meatballs.

 What’s on your to-make list for this fall? 

Any cute clothing trends that you’re all over?

XOXO 

5 responses »

  1. Yum!! That looks good! And I like the idea of adding some fresh veggies to the mix! I could totally whip this up with some vegetable stock! YUM!

    Reply
  2. I always have a big list of food I want to make from other blogger’s too. Hope the macaroons turn out – let me know what you think!

    Reply
  3. I always wondered how her products are. Maybe I’ll have to give them a try next trip to Target.

    Reply
  4. I’m making chili tonight for the first time this year. Can’t wait! The sweet potato shepherd’s pie looks awesome too.
    I’m excited that really wide leg jeans are back, although I’m not sure I can pull the look off.

    Reply
  5. Hey lady!!! I haven’t kept up with blogging in such a long time – sorry I haven’t commented in forever. How have you been?? Your eats still look fantastic as always 🙂 I love Giada (as you know haha) and I’ve always wanted to try some of her soups. This one looks delish – thanks for posting those stats for us! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

