RSS Feed

Welcome Fall & The Weekend

Posted on

Friday when I got home from work, there was a My Blogspark package on my doorstep.  Did you know that Yoplait added another flavor to their line of smoothie mixes?

Yep.  Chocolate & Banana, here I come.  Along with the free coupon, I got a plastic tumbler, a lavendar eye mask, & a neck pillow!   I would say that this was a positive start to my weekend 😉  I love presents!

Friday night, the boy & I went to meet my parents & sister at the movies to see Abduction.

[source]

The theatre was packed since it was a rainy night and the movie had just come out.  We had a funny audience to watch it with…you know, the kind that claps at heroic scenes and “awhhh’s” at romance. Overall, the plot was good, the acting was not…Taylor Lautner may be nice to look at, but acting wise, he doesn’t impress me.

Saturday, I felt super productive. 

I finally got to try out the recipe for Katie’s Almond CoconutMacaroons.  They were absolutely delicious.  The recipe included all ingredients that I already had onhand…except the 1/4 C. stevia baking blend.  So, for the record, it takes approximately 30 splenda packets to make 1/4 C 😉  THEY.WERE.AWESOME.  Notice, I said were. Boyfriend approved, too.

904 calories, avg. hr 113

Not ALL my Saturday morning productivity happened in the kitchen, as you can see.  I worked out in the basement for a little while.  It’s so easy to get caught up in a workout when you’re watching the Biggest Loser on Hulu (:

For lunch, I whipped up some of Mama Pea’s Mmm Sauce and made a glorious vegetable dish.

Steamfresh cauliflower & broccoli, 1 egg + 2 egg whites with a piece of Stonefire Flatbreads whole wheat roti

‘Twas divine. 

That night we celebrated my cousin’s birthday party at my house.  The camera battery was dead, so there were no pictures, buuuut it was a nice time.  Plus, Jarid and I got some shopping done for a wedding reception we’re attending next month.

Sunday morning was another great sweat session in my basement thanks to Insanity and Netflix, but not before I devoured this delicious little chocolate oat bran cake with peanut flour icing.

cake:

  • 1/3 C. oat bran
  • 1 diet Swiss Miss hot chocolate packet
  • 1 Splenda packet
  • 1 egg white
  • baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • water to thin

icing:

  • 1/4 C. peanut flour
  • 1 splenda packet
  • salt to taste
  • water to thin

Instead of heating up the oven for just a personal sized cake, I nuke mine in the microwave.  They taste just the same!  Easy peasy.

The stats from the cake fueled workout were decent as well.

615 calories, max hr 156

The series we are doing in church now was all about how to be more like Jesus.  A recently converted believer from a non-believer told us her testimony and it was baffling.  She is now part of a discipling program!  How cool is that?!

Jarid & I headed to Wegman’s to get our weekly fix for lunch.

My box of goodies was rather exciting.  I tried three different types of quinoa salads (Quinoa w/ Cranberries & Pumpkin Seeds, Blueberry Quinoa, and Butternut Squash Quinoa) and a tri-color chickpea salad, all of which were scrumptious.  I’m going to try to get the recipes from the website!  Along with the grains, I got some loose vegetables (blanched green beans, broccoli, red pepper, beets, cucumbers, and lettuce) with just a smidge of taco seasoned chicken.  Fit for a queen, I tell ya.

We dined on the way to Lancaster, so Jarid got a wrap for convenience.  He said he chose the wheat one in my honor.  Haha.

We spent the afternoon & evening hanging out and watching football together.  Jarid spent a bunch of time with my little cousin, Cole. 

My grandparents came over later and we all went to dinner together.  Later, they whipped out the “baby Sami” pictures, and we had a nice little trip down memory lane. 

I don’t get to see these guys nearly as often as I’d like, but I am pretty excited that we already have a weekend picked out in October for me to visit!  We are both just SO busy.  If we don’t pick out a time at least a month in advance, our schedules end up conflicting.

The food took a back burner to the company and conversation at dinner.  I had much more fun holding this little guy than I did chowing down on the salad bar & my sweet potato + scallops…although they were pretty awesome 😉

I had a little cup of french onion soup, too, which was mouthwatering, before I ate my dessert plate. I love that Hoss’s is jumping on the “healthy” bandwagon and offering sugar free pudding & ice cream!

Another weekend success.  Tell me about your weekends!  And don’t forget to enter the Stonehouse 27 & Lundberg Heat & Eat Rice Bowl Killer Combo Giveaway

ALSO, Kayla, the winner of the Brat Hans prize package, please email me at freckledfoodielove@gmail.com with your shipping info. I tried to reply to the email you used to comment, but it said the message was undeliverable to that address.

XOXO.

9 responses »

  1. Mmmmm you ate some yummy creations this weekend!! I’m a blogspark member but feel like I never get anything from them!! What the heck? Lol

    Reply
  2. what a fun weeekend!! love the pic of you and the little one!! soo sweet! 😀

    Reply
  3. Whohoo! Boyfriend approved! That’s the mark of a successful recipe to me. Thanks for the link love!

    Also, 904 calories in one workout – daaang girl. Go get it!

    Reply
  4. I love that the smoothie cup has a domed lid!

    Reply
  5. That cake looks amazing! Could you sub whole wheat or ww pastry flour for the oat bran? And you’re sooo lucky! I wish I had restaurants that fancied up quinoa/chickpea/veggie stuff were sold around here.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Two Winners & Game To Recap « The Freckled Foodie

  7. Pingback: The Early Bird Gets The Worm. « The Freckled Foodie

  8. Pingback: 1/2 Anniversary Recap « The Freckled Foodie

  9. Pingback: Ode To Peanut Flour – Giveaway! « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

