RSS Feed

Scatterbrained.

Posted on

I’m a planner.  A control freak, really.  I like everything in my life to have a schedule.  When things aren’t completely laid out for me, I tend to stress out and can’t relax. 

Life, lately, is putting my patience to the test.  Sometimes I wonder if this nuttzo schedule I’m trying to keep is God’s way of helping me grow as a person.  Forcing me to turn things over to Him rather than taking the reins and thinking my plans are best.

I’ve been having lots of “those days” recently…you know…when you spill your coffee all over yourself and have to change outfits, shoes, and accessories, inevitably making you late for work…when you forget your sports bra for basketball practice and spend the entire practice feeling like you’re running around naked…when you have to use the soap dispensers in the bathroom (for washing hands) as opposed to shower gel, because you switched gym bags and forgot to change supplies over….when it snows in October, forcing you to stay home from the Halloween party that you worked so hard to get costumes together for – I guess princess peach & mario will have to wait til next year.

The thing is…out of all the things that went wrong…SO many other things went right…it just goes to show that even our best made plans can never trump God’s.  His way are always the best ways.  The demanding agenda I try to maintain on a daily basis, does make me appreciate the little moments that I get to squeeze in here and there, like carving pumpkins with the love of my life after a long day of work, classes, and basketball practice.

Sometimes God even surprises us with little encouragements along the way, like having your picture posted to the college website, blessing you with a guy who would do anything for you (including bring you dinner after basketball practice, and spend his Monday night with you in a Biology lab helping you study for your next exam).

I’d say, if this is the worst it gets, I’ve got it pretty darn good.  Last night, the parents even text me to find out if they could pick me up anything at the grocery store.  It’s amazing how something so little could make me feel so cared for.  They took care of picking up some flavored water, veggies, and canned goods for me to last the week.  Thanks, Momma & Poppa FF (:

To all of you who read the blog and have done something kind for me, making my life just a little bit easier through this insane time in my life (whether it’s an inspiring email or comment, a favor you’ve done, an errand you’ve run, or just a hug that you’ve given me)…THANK YOU SO MUCH from the bottom of my heart 

 

3 responses »

  1. DiningAndDishing

    I’m sorry I’m so behind on blog reading lately – life is nuts right now! But I’m so glad to see you’re doing well. And you’re right to focus on the positive in life🙂.

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
    • I feel ya! I just figure…it’s better that we’re out actually experiencing life and taking up time that way, rather than behind our computers all the time, right? (: Totally understandable. Glad you’re doing well, too!❤

      Reply
  2. Oh, girlie, I miss you. I’m glad that, busy or not, life is so spectacular. I would love to catch up with you sometime soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

