RSS Feed

It’s Really All About The Bread.

Posted on

As a carb lover, some of my favorite meals come in the form of sandwiches.  They make excellent and easy-to-pack lunches, dinners, and sometimes snacks.  There are so many different components and so many different food groups that can be included!  The possibilities are endless, really.  But where does it start?  With the bread, of course.  Just like the fillers, there are tons of options.

Here are some of my go-to vehicles for all the delicious sammie stuffers.

[source]

1. Arnold 10 Grain Bread

This variety features sunflower seeds, which are high in monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats, protein, fiber, iron, zinc, vitamin B6, magnesium, folate, selenium and copper. They are especially rich in vitamin E, an antioxidant that protects against cell damage.

  • 80 calories per slice
  • Baked with 10 whole grains
  • Excellent source of fiber
  • No artificial colors, flavors or preservatives

 It’s got a bit of crunch to it from the seeds which I love.  It tastes pretty dense too, but it’s packed with fiber.  Usually, I hate eating the “butts” of the bread, but with these loaves, I can’t wait to get to the end!

2.  Nature’s Own Double Fiber Wheat

This bread is unlike any other 50 calorie-per-slice bread out there.  It is soft, fluffy, and doesn’t taste “light”.  3g protein and 5g fiber in just one serving!  That means for 100 calories (2 slices), you’ll get 10g of fiber and 6g protein.  Pretty unbeatable, if you ask me.  Also, when you toast it, it seems to plump, which I LOVE.  It is my favorite for toast making.  Better yet?  No high fructose corn syrup, no trans fat, no cholesterol, & no artificial preservatives, colors, or flavors.  It’s even got Omega-3’s!

 

[source]

3. Thomas Light Multi-Grain English Muffin

100 calories, 8g fiber, 5g protein.  Need I say more?  Get creative and use some non-traditional sandwich components like enlish muffins to make your sandwiches.  Egg sammies aren’t just for breakfast time, you know ;)  Spread ’em  with Laughing Cow Light Cheese & sugar-free jam. 

[source]

4. La Tortilla Factory Low Carb, High Fiber -Large

Ingredients: water, oat fiber, whole wheat flour, soy flour, vital wheat gluten, expeller pressed canola oil, contains less than 2% of each of the following: baking powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate), sea salt, guar gum, citric acid, yeast, xanthan gum, l-cysteine, to maintain freshness (sorbic acid, calcium propionate).

If you are seriously looking to cut back on carbs, but still attain the recommended value of whole grains per day, these wraps are for you.  Yeah, I know, it’s technically not bread, but again, I think it’s important to mix things up and give yourself a variety of ways to eat things so you don’t get bored.   These were voted on of the 125 “Best Foods For Women” and will give you 52% of your daily recommended value (12g) fiber and 8g protein for just 80 calories.  Quesedillas were never so easy to incorporate into a healthy diet.  They make other flavors, too such as green onion & garlic herb.

Finally, here are some of my favorite stuffin’s:

protein:

  • eggs
  • canadian bacon
  • chicken breast
  • tofu
  • turkey
  • light cheese
  • beans
  • veggie burger
  • tempeh

veggies:

  • spinach
  • romaine
  • sprouts
  • mushrooms
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • peppers
  • onion

extras:

  • avocado
  • nut butter
  • hummus
  • salsa
  • mustard
  • reduced sugar ketchup
  • oregano
  • sugar-free jam

You can just call me the sandwich lady (:  I could probably eat a sandwich for every meal, everyday and not get tired of it!  Don’t even get me started on bfast sammies!

What’s your favorite sandwich spot?  I love Isaac’s or the Pita PitAtlanta Bread Company is decent, too.

What’s your go-to combo or favorite?  Typically, I go with turkey & hummus.  It’s my signature order…but if I’m making one myself, there’s not telling what I might put on it.  I also love eggs + hummus + reduced sugar ketchup!

What’s the weirdest sandwich you’ve ever eaten? Peanut butter & pickle.  Weird & delicious…ask Missy ;)  I feel like Holly has the best answer to this question.  She is the sandwich queen….in fact, several have changed her life (:

XO.

5 responses »

  1. I love the pepperidge farm whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread! DEELISH! My favorite spot is Panera Bread, so good! Their grilled chicken cesear is so yummy. But I could always opt for a classic PBJ, any meal, any time, any where!

    Reply
  2. Ahhh I’ve actually tried (and loved) all three of those!!!! I especially love the tortilla wraps. Trader Joe’s has a similar store-brand now and it’s fantastic@

    Reply
  3. I used to think that I didn’t like sandwiches, but as an adult I know now that i just don’t like highly processed white bread with cheap “sandwich meat” on top. Give me some hearty whole grain bread with real fillings and I am all over it!🙂

    Reply
  4. Im actually not a fan of bread or sandwiches, but when i was little i loved pb & j’s.

    Reply
  5. Oh girl I looove bread so much!! I love all the ones you mentioned, but now that I have a bread machine I adore making it homemade. I eat way more bread now that I bake it at home, but I don’t care!! Its tasty🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

