RSS Feed

I Yam What I Yam…Donate A Can!

Posted on

One of my favorite ways to save money at the grocery store is to buy canned and frozen veggies rather than fresh from the produce section.  Not only are they much more shelf stable, which leads to less waste (aka, throwing out rotten veggies), but they are just as nutritious, if not MORE than fresh produce, as long as there isn’t a TON of added salt and preservatives.

Last month, Allen’s, donated 1 can (up to 3,000 total) of Popeye Spinach to local food banks for each “like” they got on Facebook as part of the “I Yam What I Yam” Promotion.  I realize that I’m a little late on this post, as the promotion ended on October 31st, but I felt the need to recognize the charitable spirit of the company.

Courtesy of Allen’s, I was able to try a can of it for myself, and could not be more pleased.  As many of you know, spinach is quite popular around the blog world, mainly for it’s debut in the the GREEN MONSTER movement.  It truly is a very versatile veggie, though!  You can mix it into eggs, create dips and spreads with it, or even add it to soups!

Check out the killer dose of Vitamin A and C in just 1/2 C. (30 calories) of this stuff!  On the website, they’ve got a TON of different ways you can use the stuff, too.  This recipe struck my fancy, and although I made some improvisions (which are in red) to create a healthier version, it was absolutely fantastic!

POPEYE’S CLASSIC SPINACH DIP
INGREDIENTS
1 can (13.5 oz.) Popeye Spinach
16 oz. sour cream (I used 0% plain greek yogurt)
3/4 cup mayonnaise (I used Nayonaise)
1 pkg. (1.4 oz.) vegetable soup mix, such as Knorr®
2 cans (8 oz. each) water chestnuts, drained and chopped
3 green onions or 1 small onion, chopped
DIRECTIONS
Drain spinach well. Mix all ingredients until well blended. Cover and chill for several hours before serving. Serve with raw vegetables, chips, crackers, or in a cut-out bread bowl with bread chunks for dipping.
What’s the most creative way you’ve ever used a canned vegetable?
XO.

 

One response »

  1. That’s awesome that they donated so many cans!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

