RSS Feed

The Price of Victory

Posted on

Verse of the day:

“God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways; he does great things beyond our understanding. He says to the snow, ‘Fall on the earth,’ and to the rain shower, ‘Be a mighty downpour.’” – Job 37:5-6

Our first basketball game of the season was played last night!  We came out on top with a score of 63 to our opponent’s 39.

For lunch, I knew I wanted something carb-friendly, so I used a few components that I had around the house for some successful game fuel ( I had pumpkin oats with ff cottage cheese & sugar free syrup for bfast, too but it was camera shy ;)).

-1 serving of a frozen steamfresh blend containing long grain and brown rice, peas, carrots, and corn.

-1 serving Steamfresh snap peas

-1 egg + 2 whites microwaved until cooked

-an unmeasured amount (to taste) of Bragg’s Liquid Amino’s

It was just like healthified fried rice!

On the way to the game, I also had a huge fuji apple. 

Women's Basketball 2010-11

[source]

We played Penn State York on their turf which meant an hour long bus ride…Momma FF & Jarid came to support!  I swear, I have the best boyfriend in the entire world…who loved me even though I looked like this after the game…

 It’s my first black eye EVER.  This pic doesn’t quite do it justice, but this one does…

I caught a quite bony elbow right under my eye…within a minute of game time, it had swollen up like a balloon and turned black n’ blue almost immediately.  In fact, Momma FF & Jarid didn’t even see it happen because they didn’t quite make it for the very beginning of the game.  Coach pulled me out just enough time for the trainer to look at it.  I told her I was fine, and went right back in!   Playing was only challenging after that, in the aspect that I couldn’t quite see both the person I was defending and the ball at the same time… I was peering over a little hump that covered most of the vision in my right eye.

 On the way home, we stopped for a team dinner at the most convenient sandwich shop that we came across.

 Subway, Eat Fresh.

These are two of my favorite teammates.  We are the only three on the team who played last year.  Vets, we are😉

I chose the turkey salad with sweet peppers, banana peppers, green peppers, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, spinach, lettuce, onion, and Italian Free.

[source]

I was saving room for the Crunchmaster crackers I had on the bus after our pitstop.  Seriously, I am in love with these Roasted Vegetable flavored brown rice crisps.  They are SO delicious.  Between these and Kashi’s Salsa Pita Chips I can’t choose a favorite.

Soon as the girls were finished up with their meals, we bussed it back to campus and I went home to crash. 

For dessert, when I got home, I noshed on some blueberry cheesecake in the form of a Doctor’s Carbrite Bar.

Today is my Friday, thankfully!  Tomorrow is Veteran’s Day, so all state employees have a paid holiday.  Thank you, Lorddddd.  Anyhow, I’ve got another game tomorrow, and a date with Momma FF!  Stay tuned😉

When was your first black eye and how did you get it?!

XOXO.

5 responses »

  1. Wasn’t my first but my best black eye was after an outfield collision where a girl tried to jump over me while I dove for a ball and her knee hit my sunglasses. I have a gash large enough to see my skull and gave me a nice black eye for Easter the next day.

    I’m impressed that you can still eat well on college sports road trips!

    Reply
  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Oh, I am so sorry for that black eye! It looks like it really hurt😦 At least you enjoyed all those tasty meals🙂 Good luck with all those games and stuff!

    Reply
  3. So sorry for the eye girl!! Hey but at least you won right?🙂 Im ok with any injury I get on the field, as long as we win!!
    And my hubby gave me a black eye a year ago or so by elbowing me during his sleep (we were married!!) and he felt SOOOO bad. I got a black eye but not as bad as yours!! I think men like to take care of us anyway, so Im sure your bf will be giving you some good lovin🙂

    Reply
  4. awww your poor eye!!!
    congrats for getting back in the game though and pushing through!!!

    fried rice sounds bomb. and i need to try those crackers

    love your leopard print nails too😀

    HAPPY WEEKEND DARLING! get some rest and ice on that thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

