RSS Feed

VixiBars – The Natural Sweetness of Life

Posted on

It’s safe to say that I probably wouldn’t be making it through this semester without the help of bars.  A healthy carb to protein ratio is highly important, along with the ingredients list for bars, in my opinion…and taste?  That’s probably priority #1 :)  A bar that’s got it all?  Hard to find…I’m pretty picky…  Especially when you’re the kind of girl who needs a little variety.

When Vixibar gave me the opportunity to review four of their varieties, I was eccstatic, to say the least…the same old Dr. Carbrite bars were getting old.  If you’re not craving one of these flavors by the end of this post, you’re probably inhuman…especially since it’s almost lunchtime😉

Apple Crisp, Peppermint Patty, Peanut Butter Cup, PB &J, Chocolate Macaroon, Pumpkin Pie, Coconut Bliss, Cherry Biscotti, Cherry Brownie, and Peanut Butter Banana.

[source]

Basically, each of these DESSERT tasting bars is made with wholesome ingredients (NO SUGAR ADDED), without preservatives, contain 12g of protein, a healthy dose of fiber, and are gluten, lactose & soy free (great for all of you with thyroid issues like myself!).

I should’ve known they were going to be something special after reading this little note on the webpage from Kate, the creator.  You see, she’s an athlete, herself, so she knows what it takes to create the perfect bar for people like me.

Here are my favorites, in order.

Apple Crisp (11/10)

Never in a million years could have I imagined that this bar would taste exactly like apple pie…but it did.  I’m sure glad these are individually wrapped bars, because I would have a definite problem with portion control, had they not been.  As you can see in the stats, 230 calories with just 0.5g saturated far, 12g of natural sugar from the fruit, and 12g of protein from whey.

 Seriously, this Christmas, skip the apple pie and nosh on one of these bars.  You’ll thank me.

Cherry Biscotti aka Cherry Pie (10/10)

This was similar to a Cherry Pie Larabar, except I love the fact that these have so much more protein in them than Larabars.  Not only that, they’re actually larger in size. 

The calorie content is just about the same, and the only ingredient difference is the whey, really.  Both have healthy fats, and have no added sugar.  The sweetness of the dates (nature’s candy!) is perfectly balanced by the tartness of the dried cherries.

Chocolate Macaroon  (10/10)

Chocolate and coconut will forever be one of my favorite combinations.  This bar brough me back to the day I got to review Hail Merry Macaroons

I think, this weekend, I’m going to have to make some of Katie’s Coconut Almond Macaroons and add some Cocoa Cardio (a new, recent purchase!) to try to recreate this bar!  The flavors are spot on.

Peanut Butter & Jelly (8/10)

Here’s the thing…the only reason I subtracted a point from this flavor, was because I LOVE a good peanut butter & jelly sandwich.  Preferably with peanut flour, and sugar-free strawberry jam.  The salty sweet combo of the peanuts and the fruit is one of the best!  Buuuuut, in this flavor, I couldn’t taste much of the fruit at all…I think they would’ve been better off adding CHERRIES rather than RAISINS to this one…and maybe adding a little bit of salt?  It was good, but just tasted like plain, old peanut butter.  Still love the stats, though!

I want to say thank you SO much to Kate & Vixibar for sending me these four to review!  I’d reallly love to try the peanut butter banana, coconut bliss, and pumpkin pie flavors!!  They sound MIND blowing.  Shop for them online, here!  Instead of sending someone cookies for Christmas, try some Vixibars!  Just go to their site and click “shop”  you can have them delivered right to their door!  You can also find them on Facebook & Twitter for special deals!

3 responses »

  1. these bars looks simply divine. i am headed to their website right now for some purchasing! thank you for the fantastic review! . . . ps they sound so fantastically similar to the new “cherry cashew” bar from PureBar! so excited!❤

    Reply
  2. mmm! these bars look great!! thanks for the fabulous review, lady!😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

