RSS Feed

2012 Starts With A Bang

Posted on

Before the New Year’s Eve festivities began, I figured I’d get up a little early in order to burn some calories and jump start my day.  I don’t feel awake until I’ve sweat a little bit😉

Nothing is quite comparable to a basketball practice, because my heart rate gets higher during those than anything else…it’s much more intense than a jog on the treadmill or an interval workout on the elliptical…on the other hand, basketball practices are much tougher on my knees and back than being on the elliptical, too.

After breakfast and a shower, fixed my nails, & got my dress clothes packed up.  Jarid & I hit the road for a wedding in Bethlehem, PA around 10am.  A buddy of his from college, in the military, had to leave for California on January 2nd, and proposed to his girlfriend just two weeks before, asking her to move there with him.  How romantic is that?!  I can’t believe how amazing the wedding was for having planned it in that short amount of time.

The wedding and the reception were held at Blue, which is also a restaurant.  The banquet hall was absolutely beautiful, complete with chandeliers, antique gold trim, and a nice, little, wooden dance floor.

Jarid and I were seated at a couple’s table with the best man and his fiance, who were both exceptionally personable and sweet.  We had a great time socializing at the event and even shared our first dance.

I promised Momma FF I would be home for the NYE celebration with the family, and we ended up making it home by like 7pm. 

Almost immediately, we got changed into comfy clothing.

It’s tradition that just before midnight, everyone gathers in our living room, grabs some already blown up ballons, noisemakers, and confetti poppers, and counts down while watching the ball drop in Time Square on TV. 

We all yell, “ten, nine, eight, seven…” (you get the picture).  You can bet your bottom dollar there was a big kiss at midnight, too😉

As you can imagine, it left a huge mess for cleaning up, but it was totally worth it to keep tradition. 

At least, that’s what we tell ourselves.  After midnight, the boys go out side & shoot their guns.  We used to have fireworks, but that was before they were illegal.  Soon everyone leaves, and we go to bed.  Within a few hours (aka, noon NYD), everyone is back for pork & saurkraut , or in my case, a big old vegetable roast.

I couldn’t think of a better meal to start the New Year than my favorites: roasted butternut squash and parsnip fries.  I could eat them every single day with either reduced sugar ketchup or light ragu.  Don’t worry, I had a little bit of the white meat pork, some roasted broccoli, too. 

After lunch, the kids have Christmas #2, when my Aunt and Grandma give their gifts to the kids.

As you may remember, there are a TON of kids in our family…it’s always fun to watch them light up as they open gifts. 

2011 had been the best year of my life…but 2012 is looking pretty promising, too.

Literally

See anything different about my left hand?

Yep!  I’m engaged!!

Just kidding.

It is a beautiful promise ring, though!

Gotcha!😉

Here’s to an amazing year!

XOXO.

9 responses »

  1. OMG I wsa just about to have a stroke!!! Girl, you shouldn’t tease us like that! But it’s a LOVELY PROMISE RING! I’m so happy for you! I know it’s gonna happen…right around the corner! I can smell it! YAYAYAYAY!

    Reply
  2. was* I was so excited I forgot how to type.

    Reply
  3. that wedding sounds like so much fun!! I love love love going to weddings!!
    and I love you and the Boy! cutest couple EVER.

    love those earrings, and gorgeous promise ring as well!!

    love the family NYE celebration, full of lots of tradition! how wonderful!!

    Reply
  4. parsnip fries & promise ring! yayyy!

    i’ve never been exposed to either of the aforementioned, so i’ll live vicariously through your pictures. 😉

    but i might buy myself a promise ring . . . promising to always be good to myself.

    and parsnip fries?! need your recipe now!!! 🙂 x

    Reply
  5. Hey Nicole! I have a diamond ring I am trying to sell if you’re interested🙂

    Reply
  6. caloricandcrazy

    I LOVE your nails, and I love the fries too🙂

    Reply
  7. GIRL dont DO that to me!! I seriously just screamed NO WAY and my hubby just walked in and asked what’s no way? lol You little trickster! Its a beautiful ring though, and Im glad you two have made that promise to eachother🙂

    Reply
  8. Omg you totally got me!! haha Its a beautiful ring! Congrats on your promise, it looks like you had an incredible holiday season!❤

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Welcome to 2013. | Savoring the Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

