Black Bean Brown[noser]ies

Posted on

Sooo, I decided to do another recipe analysis for my Nutrition class…two, actually, but this post is about the chocolate.  Let’s be honest, what would life be like without chocolate?  Or Elise’s recipes, really?

 CHOCOLATE DECEPTION at its best 🙂 Serves 12

Ingredients:

  • 2 Bananas (very ripe works best)
  • 1 – 15oz. Can of black beans (drained and rinsed well)
  • ¼ C. Whole Wheat Flour
  • ¼ C. Splenda (or other calorie free sweetener)
  • ¼ C. Unsweetened Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder (Hershey’s)
  • 1 T. cinnamon 

    Directions:
    1- Drain and rinse black beans well.

    2- Combine the black beans and bananas in a food processor until well blended.

3- Add the whole wheat flour, splenda, cocoa powder, and cinnamon to the batter and process again until well blended.

4- Pour batter into an 8×8 baking dish sprayed with non-stick cooking spray

5- Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes

MMMMm…. Of course, I sampled one straight from the oven…you know, just to make sure they were edible…and servable…and…well, delicious.  Check, check, and checccccccccck!  🙂

Using the MyDietAnalysis Software that I get access to with my class, here are the nutritionals, FYI:

61.92 Calories

0.42g Fat

0g Saturated

0mg Cholesterol

3.1g Fiber

2.7g Sugar (naturally occurring in bananas)

2.8g Protein

XOXO

11 responses »

  1. Thanks for posting this! I love it… my husband is a type II diabetic and he would absolutely love this.

    I just might have to link to this in an upcoming blog post at RecipeLion. Hope you don’t mind. 🙂

    Keep of the good work, love your blog,

    Sarah @ RecipeLion
    http://www.RecipeLion.com

    Reply
  2. Oooo these look awesome!! I don’t have splenda but still, the stats on these babies are incredible!

    Reply
  3. healthcraved

    I think my favorite part is that all of the sugar is naturally occurring from the bananas. Yours truly is gonna have to try this recipe for sure!

    Reply
  4. movesnmunchies

    OH YUM!! i love back bean brownies!!

    Reply
  5. Striving for Strides

    Hi, I’m Stephanie! I just made a new blog a couple days ago but I have been following yours for quite awhile on my google reader. I decided I should finally comment yours and not be a blog lurker anymoreee 🙂

    These babies look sooo delicious! Not to mention those stats! I’m going to make these ASAP aka tomorrow 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  6. You think if I used pumpkin instead of banana it’d work..I might try it >.>

    Reply
  7. YUMMMMMM! those would be good with nut butter on top!

    Reply
  8. This Italian Family

    Nice! I’ve wondered about black bean brownies! These look yummy!

    Reply
  9. im so glad they worked out!! i know what you mean about the addicting nature of them….there are worse things to polish off all on your own though, haha 🙂

    Reply
  10. Oooh, add protein powder or espresso next time! It is heaven. I did chocolate fudge and cookies and cream, and it nearly didn’t make it into the oven! I almost ate the entire thing as batter!! lol

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Link Lovin’ « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a comment