RSS Feed

The Road To The State Championship

Posted on

At about 6:30PM on Friday night, we pulled up to hotel in West Virginia.  We were pleasantly surprised that the brand new hotel we were staying in looked nothing like its surroundings…rundown, empty space.

After a quick check-in, we each threw our bags into our rooms, admired the clean, classy space, and got changed to head to dinner and practice.

It was a little odd to us that the entire back wall of the room was a huge mirror. 

My friend, Julie asked me if we could room together and I quickly agreed!  I’d say she is my best friend on the team 🙂  We have a lot in common with our faith and we’ve really been support systems for one another throughout the season.

There was a nice flat screen in the room, but we actually didn’t even use it!  Most of our time in the room was spent getting showers, sleeping, and doing devotionals! *Note, the Enjoy Life cookies on the desk!  I brought them for my roomie because she has to eat gluten-free!  She LOVED them!  I sent her home with the remainder of the box 🙂

After a quick minute of regrouping, the team headed for dinner together.

I’m telling you, this place was in the middle of nowhere.  We saw only a handful of restaurants that were within 10 miles of the school/hotel.  I thought that within a college town, there had to be more to do…I was wrong!

Dinner was interesting to say the least.  The menu wasn’t too shabby, and I ended up ordering a roasted turkey breast sandwich on rye bread with lettuce, tomato and onion with a side salad and vinegar on the side.  The lighting was total crap, though and I didn’t get a good shot of the meal.

The meal was much more about the company than the food, though.  Team bonding is important, especially before a huge game!  These two ladies are our sophomores, Julie & Steph…some of the sweetest girls you’ll ever meet!

I’m going to miss these girls so much.  The season wouldn’t have been the same without each and every one of them.  Don’t worry, though, we are already checking out beach houses this summer for a long weekend trip together! 

After dinner, it was time for our last practice.  The gym was super old!  One of the guys told us that the brick was all original, too! 

We ran through some basic quick drills consisting of layups, shooting, and press breaking.  After brushing up on all of our plays and getting in some foul shooting, we headed back to the hotel to shower and get some rest.

In the morning, Jules and I got some breakfast.  I made her a greek yogurt mess with banana and cereal.  I don’t know how I managed this, but for some reason, my food pictures escaped my camera!  Ironic, isn’t it?  Seeing how this is a food blog and all?!  I had packed the go-to breakfast as of late – aka banana peanut flour oats.

Next up, we did our devotionals together.  It was a really cool thing to be able to have a friend to talk to about spiritual growth and seeing Jesus in our daily lives. 

Before we knew it, we were lacing up our Nike’s and it was gametime.  The school we played, Potomac State College of West Virginia, had 15 girls, which to us was unheard of, considering we had gone through our season with a total of 7-9.  Two of their players were there on scholarships as well.  I wasn’t intimidated in the slightest, however, which was abnormal for me.  I was just excited to be there.

Potomac State had quite a few big girls.  Coach decided to put me on their best offensive player while we were in man defense, and she wasn’t too difficult to guard. 

The only thing I struggled with was getting pushed under the basket when it was time to box out and rebound.  I can’t complain about the way our team played.  We fought until the very end, but a dry spell toward the beginning of the game gave the opponent a quick lead that we just weren’t able to close the gap on.

Potomac State 88, HACC 70: The Lady Hawks (16-2) came up short in the Pennsylvania Collegiate Athletic Association championship game after falling behind early. Sami Cox (Halifax) and Lakisha Lemon (Milton Hershey) scored 19 points each to lead HACC. 

[source]

I’ve got more action shots, but they’re on Momma FF’s camera, so you’ll have to wait until I can upload them! Like I said, we had a wonderful season.  Friendships were grown, talents were shared, and a family was born 🙂  We adore both of our coaches, and can’t wait play again for them next season.  I’m really going to miss Jules and Steph (our two sophies, though!)  We plan on putting together a summer league team, too! EPCC Champs and State Runners-Up; Final record: 16-2.

After the game, all of the fans and the team hit up Ruby Tuesday’s for lunch.  The game was at noon, so we were all starving by the time we reached the restaurant!  I was so thankful that my family came the whole way to WV to watch me play.  They are the greatest.

Gram & Pops

Morgy & Paige

Incase you’re a new reader of the blog and don’t already know about my love of GREAT salad bars like the one at Ruby Tuesday’s, here’s a reminder!

I don’t think my team had ever seen a person eat so much salad.  They totally followed my lead, though 😉  Haha.

They all joked that my salads were a work of art, piled high with baby spinach, cherry tomatoes, zucchini slices, red beets, cucumbers, broccoli, cauliflower, peas, carrots, edamame, mushrooms, cottage cheese, and chickpeas all bathed in some balsamic vinegar. Perfect post game meal if you ask me!

When we left, we saw Bumble Bee in the parking lot from the Transformers movies!  I kid you not.  It even has the emblem!

The latest Transformers movie was actually taped in Washington DC, so it’s a good possibility that this car was the actual one, right?!  At least that’s what I told myself to amplify the “coolness” factor 🙂

Haha.  All in all, it was a wonderful trip with wonderful people.  I cherished every moment of this season and am so thankful that God gave me the opportunity to be apart of something special! I owe it all to him!

More on the weekend, coming up in the next post!  And stay tuned for the winner of the Green Giant giveaway!

XO.

12 responses »

  1. Congratulations girl!!! 🙂

    I’ve never been to Ruby Tuesday’s, but after seeing your salad, I need to get me over there and try it out! I love salads! 😀

    No way! A real BUMBLEBEE!!! LUCKY! 😀 I love it’s license plate. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Sorry you didn’t win the big game, but it sounds like a totally awesome experience. Not to mention it was a great season! I’m glad you had a great time girl 🙂

    Reply
  3. sounds like it was a good game! Too bad you didn’t win but it was close. I don’t think I’ve ever been to ruby tuesdays. lol Thats great that your family came to see you. Congrats on getting MVP.

    Reply
  4. I love that you use devotionals to do well in your game! It’s so nice that you and your teammate can do them together. Though I don’t have a specific religion per se, I like to look at verses from the Hindu text the Bhagavhad Gita for epic rugby game inspiration 😉

    Reply
    • Thanks, sweetie! It’s not necessarily to “do well in my game”. I do them everyday! Even when I’m not playing basketball….it’s just a way that I grow closer to God and strengthen my relationship with him. For me, it isn’t about a “religion” is about a relationship with my God and savior 🙂

      Reply
  5. you guys still ROCKED it! im so proud you guys!!! thanks for this mega recap- sounds awesome!

    Reply
  6. I love that you guys can do devos together! That’s seriously so great!

    Congrats on the MVP, girl! Looks like you guys had such a great time. 🙂

    Reply
  7. I’m glad you still enjoyed the season! I’m sure you guys did great!! 🙂

    I had Ruby Tuesday’s last night!!! I got the mini veggie burgers and the salad bar. Yummm so delicious!

    Reply
  8. DiningAndDishing

    I haven’t been to Ruby Tuesdays in YEARS but I have heard great things about the salad bar! Perhaps one day I’ll give it a try :).

    Looks like a very fun team trip!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Weekend Tidbits & A Winner. « The Freckled Foodie

  10. Pingback: I’m Alive :) « The Freckled Foodie

  11. Pingback: Oh, This Has Gotta Be The Good Life <3 « The Freckled Foodie

Leave a Reply

