My God>Murphy & his law :)

Posted on

Today’s chosen chapter for my Bible Challenge comes from Galatians 6.  I read the entire chapter on biblegateway.com, which is an excellent resource, but the specific verses that hit home for me were 9-10.

9Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

These verses also brought to light that we shouldn’t be “doing good” as a means of reaping harvest, but because we LOVE God and want to do things to please Him.  It’s all about where your heart is.

I’ll tell you one thing that makes my heart flutter, are these delicious Raw Blonde Macaroons from Hail Merry that I was sent to review.  Who says dessert can’t be part of breakfast?  Of course, two of these babies were just enough to hold me over until I arrived at work, where I enjoyed part II at my desk, aka the pomegranate Chobani.

I must say, my Tuesday did NOT start out so smoothly…I felt cursed by Murphy’s Law in the beginning of the day.  First, my alarm hadn’t gone off for the set time, putting me behind schedule, then I was putting things away before I left for work and my cottage cheese container spilt allll over the inside drawer and leaked down the front of the fridge, when I got in my car, I realized I needed gas, and was ALREADY going to be late.  I had plans to go to the HACC open gym after work to play basketball for the first time in ages, and was already nervous as all get out.  When I got to work, I realized I had forgotten my HACC ID, which is needed to get into the phys. ed. center, along with my basketball sneakers.  Running home on my lunch break, I felt like a chicken with my head cut off.  Luckily, my boss is totally amazing and told me to take my time and relax.  One thing after another, I swear!

Kale salad massaged in avocado hummus with cauliflower, chickpeas, frozen peas, chopped carrots, and cherry tomatoes.

At least I had a delicious, nutritious lunch to look forward to, right?  My thoughts, exactly.

1 La Tortilla Factory ww wrap slathered in 2 tbsp. fat free strawberry cream cheese

Oh yeah, there was lunch dessert, alright…HOLY YUM.  I forgot how delicious cream cheese was…fat free tastes NO different!  They need to come out with a fat free pineapple version!

After work, I left for the basketball open gym.  I had been in contact with the coach of the college team, and she let me know all the dates that I could come and play.  She mentioned that I wouldn’t be eligible for the team because I am not a full time student (BUMMER), but that I was welcome at the open gym. 

  It was supposed to start at 4:30, but they boys took over the gym until 5PM, so I went for a 2 1/2 mile jog before it started up.  As I laced up my sneakers, my stomach was in knots.   I had no idea why I was so nervous…I had nothing to lose, right?? 

I munched on an apple for a little pre-basketball fuel.  I prayed, and prayed, and prayed some more with each step I took closer to the gym just the God would be with me, calm my nerves, and let me shine for Him…It went PERFECTLY.  I felt like I never stopped playing.

Check out the HR monitor stats!  I forgot to stop the clock when I took off the band around my chest, so no, I did not workout for 6 hr. and 9 min…:)  BUT look at my max heart rate!?  195

Although open gym wasn’t over until 6:30, I had to leave an hour early because I had my first History exam!  It was a geography test on the Western Hemisphere.

[source]

I showered up, ate my packed dinner in my car and studied my map…ahhh the life of a full-time worker, part-time student, and athlete.

Roasted vegetable dish: kale, cauliflower, onion, broccoli, and one green pepper stuffed with Cedar’s Tabouli salad.

But my favorite part of the meal came last and was inspired by Mrs. Janetha G. 🙂  I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to try it, actually!

1 microwaved sweet tater with cottage cheese & Better N’ PB

Foodgasm, I tell you.  With all this brain fuel, I was amped and ready to go for my exam!  Again, praying as I entered the testing room, I was super nervous, but I’ve come to the conclusion (not like I didn’t know already) that my GOD is so much greater than that stupid Murphy and his law 😉

I was also thrilled because after class (Herb audited the class so he doesn’t take the tests, but he waited around for me to finish!) I got to show Herb the card I made for him!  We chatted after class and walked to his car so he could drive me to mine.  A hug and a kiss on the palm & cheek, and I was headed for home.

I guess that 730 calorie burn had my metabolism pretty revv’d, so when I got home, I snacked on some protein while I packed up my lunch for the next day.

Meatless Veggie Patch Meatballs with marinara sauce

The little sister was eating some Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream out of the Turkey Hill container, and she made it look so good that I was glad I had my own stash of froyo in the freezer.

3/4 C. Edy’s Slow Churned Chocolate Vanilla Swirl Yogurt Blend

She’d hate me if she saw this picture, but in my defense, I found THIS picture that she snagged of me on my phone, so I think we’re even.

It was a perfect way to end my night…enjoying ice cream with the little sister 🙂  She said to me the other day…”we live in the house and I feel like I never see or talk to you“…I don’t think she had ANY idea how much joy it brought to my heart that she actually NOTICED and CARED.  Its something I think about ALL the time…I wish we were closer…we’re both VERY busy, and I realize that, but I want to become best friends.  Isn’t that what sisters are for?

God is so good, He’s so good to me.

 If you’re doing the Bible Challenge with me, what is God showing YOU!?  Sharing is caring 😀

PS- Don’t forget to check out this awesome album by The Upwelling in support of the New York Police and Fire widow’s and childrens benefit fund….AND enter my Zevia giveaway!

XOXO.

9 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh so much yummy food on this post. I like your watch thing that shows the calories burned and the time. What kind is it and where did you get it?

    Reply
  2. I LOVE Biblegateway. I use it when I am at work 🙂
    Today I went through Romans 1 and 2. Romans 2:1 hit me pretty good.
    1You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge the other, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.
    I really need to watch my mouth sometimes, because I am so quick to blurt out my judgements before I can take a step back and look at my own life. NO ONE is perfect, and we all have sin in our lives. Judgement should only be used to HELP others notice their sin. It should not be done in an angry or mean way! Sometimes I need to remember that, especially towards the people who have hurt me.

    Reply
    • So do I! 🙂 You are so right about Romans…I think that’s something we can all work on! Thanks for sharing what God is teaching you so that we can ALL apply it! Hope the rest of your week is wonderful! Can’t wait to hear more about what you’re reading everyday! XO.

      Reply
  3. DiningAndDishing

    That sweet potato/cottage cheese/pb combo sounds like heaven! I need to try that one soon :).

    Beautiful card for Herb – I bet he was really touched!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  4. haha.. i was like WOW what a long workout! that’s funny. but that max is HIGH, you are right!

    dude, so weird, i have had stuffed peppers on tonight’s menu for a week now.. and i have seen THREE posts with them today! WEIRD!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: lead legs. « meals & moves

  6. I felt the happiness of your sisters comment as well! It touched me on a level I can appreciate, as I want this relationship with my family as well! It’s so nice to know that we are acknowledged and loved!
    So happy you got to play again!! That card for Herb is so kind! And I am so proud of you for having such a positive mind-set, and going into that exam prepared!
    Love you like a sister!
    Barbara
    ps does Herb know you have a blog?

    Reply

Leave a comment