Daily Archives: July 3, 2010

Mix1

Posted on

 Thanks so much to Tyler from Mix1 for sending me some of their yummy, smoothie-like protein shakes to try out for my review!

 

Mix one was founded by this good-lookin’ group of fellas!  The company was based on this philosophy:

I love how firmly they believe in natural vs. artificial!

Each of these convenient, luscious shakes contains:

  • 15g of superior whey protein isolate
  • 23 vitamins &  minerals
  • 3 servings fruits & veggies from antioxidants
  • 3 grams of soluble fiber
  • 2.5 grams of heart healthy fat
  • antioxidants = to 4 cups of green tea

The shakes are comprised of some pretty simple ingredients, but when combined, create a flavorful beverage that is a perfect “pick-me-up“!

Ingredients: Purified Water, Whey Protein Isolate, Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Juice Concentrate (blueberry, apple), Extra Light Olive Oil, Citric Acid, Pectin, Natural Flavor, Elderberry Concentrate (color), Lactic Acid.

I also love that they use evaporated can just as opposed to sugar!  They even have an entire list of alllll the vitamins & minerals in each one!

You’d think, as healthy as these drinks appear to be, they must have some kind of nasty chalk taste (at least I did!), but they are so creamy & satisfying they remind me of a mix between a milkshake and a fruit smoothie!

Of the five flavors, Mix-berry, Blueberry-Vanilla, Mango, Tangerine, and Lime, my favorite was the Blueberry-Vanilla.  The Mango was really delicious, too!  I actually froze some of it in a little dish and ate it like sorbet!  It was TEN times better than Rita’s 😉  Lime was 2nd runner-up, reviving memories of key lime pie! Mmm. No chemical/chalky taste like you get with some whey drinks!  Simply refreshing.

It made the perfect snack for tiding me over between meals, helping me recover after workouts, and energizing me to make it through my workday!  If you aren’t a breakfast eater, these shakes would be perfect for you!  With an on-the-go lifestyle, these are great for grabbing when I’m in a pinch to get a protein fix!  Also, while traveling when lean protein options are limited, you can always pack a bottle of Mix1

You lucky readers can thank Tyler too, because he’s hooking you all up with a GIVEAWAY!  You can win some Mix1 yourself by doing either or both of the following.  Each will get you one entry 🙂

1. Link back on your blog or tweet about this giveaway and write me a comment telling me you’ve done so.

2.  Leave a comment telling me which flavor you would most like to try.

A winner will be chosen on Monday, July 12, 2010!