Daily Archives: July 15, 2010

Pie For Breakfast.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.”

– James 1:21

Sooooooo, this breakfast was hungry-girl inspired.  I’ve got to give Lisa Lillien the credit.  Not many people would think to ground up Fiber Bran cereal and use it for bases such as pie crust and such things.

Pie crust= 1 C. ground up Fiber Select mushed together with 2 tbsp. egg whites, 5 sprays ICBINB, and baked at 350° for about 10 minutes.

Pie filling= 1/2 C. frozen blackberries blended with a splash of water, 1 tbsp. Cool Whip Free, and a tbsp. of Organic Zero

Frozen overnight and topped with a tiny squirt of Lite Redi-Whip in the morning.

For protein, I nuked a Morningstar Farms Maple Flavored Sausage patty.

The commute to work was not a fun one.  It was raining cats & dogs, causing people to freak out and forget how to merge onto a highway, apparently. 

It is rain people, NOT snow.  Again I had a Skinny Water at my desk when I finally arrived to keep my Vitamins at an optimal level 🙂 

  Lemonade Passionfruit, of course.

Work was work.  End of story.  I didn’t even have CLASS to look forward to…just lunch.  Lunch is always a pick-me-up 🙂

1 Golden Corn Vitatop and “spaghetti & meatballs” a la Freckled Foodie (1 bag of broccoli slaw steamed and topped with 1/3 C. Light Ragu + 3 Veggie Patch Meatless Meatballs)

I DID have my first sand volleyball match since my vacation in June after work, but it wasn’t until 6:15PM, so I went to pick up a birthday gift for my Godmother.  She is an angel!  So I thought this gift was only appropriate 🙂

willow Tree

[source]

The little box says “Because of you my heart has a place to belong” or something to that effect.  After I picked up a card, I stopped at the store to get some more Sugar Free Vanilla Torani Syrup

I also bought an apple & a box of Cranbran Vitatops.  I needed some carbage before the game! [unpictured]  Obviously it wasn’t enough, because we lost all three games in our match.  It was kinda ugly.  Our fourth player (one of the guys) couldn’t make it and we didn’t find a sub in time.  Four weeks without playing + 3 man team vs. 4 man team = less than flattering results.  It was still fun though!

When I got home I whipped up a quick dinner and prepped for the next day’s meals.  I had FINALLY found the Forty Spices Hummus by Tribe that I fell in love with during the review at the same store I picked up the SF Torani!  🙂

Nom. 

and then there were carrots, munched on while I was making this salad beast.

Shroomies, tomato, avocado, and spring mix drizzled with this dressing I received from Girard’s to try out!

Light Creamy Balsamic was pretty good!  It was nice and thick, which I loved because you don’t need a lot of it to get a big flavor punch.  For just 45 calories in each 2 tbsp. serving, it was great!  I only needed 1 tbsp.

I packed up my lunch & snacks for the next day, so I went downstairs to bike a bit while I was facebooking.  I ❤ multitasking.  I feel much more productive than just sitting around on my laptop if I do it while I’m exercising!

Afterward, I made dessert.

Chunky Monkey Softserve made with 1 frozen banana & a dollop of Calorie Free Walden Farms Chocolate.

I also had a stalk of celery slathered in Better N’ PB.

LicksBites&Tastes

  • broccoli & hummus
  • 1 handful cherry tomatoes
  • 1 handful of cherrios

3 Question Thursday!

1.  What do you do for a living?  Love it or hate it? I’m in a human resources department for a health & safety section.  My main duties are clerical. 

2.  What’s your biggest pet peeve?  Mine is BAD/illogical drivers!  I think the Lord was testing me this morning!  I think I passed by the skin of my teeth 🙂

3.  What’s your favorite hummus?  Mine is currently Forty Spices!

It’s almost Friday, loves!  Just hang in there 😉

**PS- Check out my guest post on the SeaPak blog!  Some of my favorite foods are SeaPak specialties!

Oh yeah, and don’t forget to enter to win yourself some Dr. Lucy’s baked goodies!  Gluten-free, delicious cookies are where it’s at!

XOXO.

 

Champion Nutrition

Posted on

 

 

Many thanks to Mary for hooking me up with a few samples from the company for this review.  Champion Nutrition has a great list of beneficial products for for weight lifters and people looking to gain muscle mass.  What you may not realize, is that you don’t need to be a body builder to partake in these delicious shakes and blends!  They are great for refueling after a tough workout or tiding you over after a long run until meal time. 

Personally, I’ve found the Pure Whey powders perfect for whipping into my oatmeal, or blending into protein ice cream!  My favorite was the Chocolate.  Then again, I only got to try the Strawberry, in addition.  The Strawberry was not as strong as I prefer flavors to be.  I was pleasantly surprised though, that the color was not totally artificial.  It was barely even pink when blended.  Both mixed easily into whatever I had on hand, mainly water or Almond Breeze, but the Strawberry had kind of a chalky aftertaste that I didn’t care for.

The stats for the Pure Whey are pretty fantastic.  26g of protein for just 125 calories!  And I love the fact that there isn’t much sugar in these powders, unlike a lot of protein blends!  Therefore, the carb content is low as well!  They’re also high in the essential amino acids and rich in glutamine peptides which promote muscle growth!  Pure Whey comes in flavors: Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry, Banana Scream, Cocoa-Mochaccino, Cookies & Cream, & Tropical Sunrise.  I think the last four sound totally dreamy!

Ultramet RTD, 12 Shakes

They also make Ready To Drink Ultra Met, which I was also sent to review.  This stuff is creamy, rich, and perfect for on the go folks who need a quick pick-me-up.  It reminded me of Yoo hoo, actually, except with a more luscious consistency.  It was seriously like a milkshake!  The nutritional stats are MUCH better than that of a milkshake, however.  You can get it in

Serving Size: 17 fl. oz. (500ml)
Servings Per Container 1

Amount Per Serving:
Calories 260
Calories from Fat 80
Total Fat 9g 14%
Saturated Fat 2g 10%
Cholesterol 20mg 7%
Sodium 650mg 27%
Potassium 420mg 12%
Total Carbohydrate 9g 3%
Dietary Fiber 5g 20%
Sugar 2g
Protein 35g

Vitamin A 20%
Vitamin C 40%
Calcium 80%
Iron 30%
Vitamin D 35%
Vitamin E 70%
Thiamin 20%
Riboflavin 20%
Vitamin B6 20%
Folate 20%
Vitamin B12 20%
Biotin 20%
Pantothenic Acid 20%
Phosphorus 40%
Iodine 20%
Magnesium 25%
Zinc 20%
Selenium 10%
Copper 20%
Manganese 20%
Chromium 20%
Molybdenum 8%
Niacin 20%

35g protein & boasting 27 Vitamins & Minerals!  5g fiber, and only 2g sugar to boot!

How’s that for satisfying?!  Mmm.

You can check here to see where you can pick them up at a store near you, or even order them online! Thanks again, Mary!