Daily Archives: July 14, 2010

Flavor Magic Portion Control Sheets

Posted on

What’s the secret to a powerhouse flavored meat that keeps your portion sizes in check?  Try these zesty new Flavor Magic Portion Control Sheets and hit two birds with one stone!

Each of these four flavorsZesty Cajun-Creole, Dijon Honey-Mustard, Riviera Tomato & Basil, and Garlic Citrus Teriyaki contain just 5 calories per sheet and will pack a seasoning punch that you’ll be salivating over.  Here’s how it works:  each flavor comes on “roll”, if you will, of 15 perforated, spiced sheets.  Each is sized out to measure 1 portion of meat.  All you have to do is pull the reel, rip off a sheet, measure out your meat, and voila!  A healthy, gourmet spiced meal in minutes.

It really is that easy.  Believe me, I’m one of the laziest chefs you’ll ever meet.  Not to mention, I’m on-the-go constantly, so I don’t have much time to prepare my own rubs and marinades.  With these sheets, I could just slap one on my meat, let it sit in the refrigerator, and cook it up! The spice blends are all fat & cholesterol free!  Not to mention, pretty low in sodium as compared to table salt! 

The results are unbelievable.  Unless of course you’ve tried them for yourself 😉  Which I HAVE thanks to Alan from the company who sent some for me to try.  I had a hard time believing that they worked SO well for less than 60¢ per servings!  Each box even comes with great recipe ideas to creat meals like this effortlessly!

The spices taste great on any kind of meat!  They’ll work on chicken, beef, shrimp, salmon, tuna, and pork!  I can’t wait to try it on TOFU and use all of the different combinations!

So far, the Garlic Citrus Teriyaki rocked my world on chicken breast.  It is a blend of asian ingredients like sesame seeds and soy sauce with bold orange and citrus flavors!  I think this one would also taste great on salmon as well!

The Dijon Honey Mustard has a subtle sweetness from the honey with the tangy bite of mustard which is perfectly blended together.  Totally mouth-watering.

The Rivera Tomato & Basil gives off a Mediterranean feel with the garlicky blend of rustic herbed tomato and basil aroma.

Last but not least, the Zesty Cajun Creole reminds me of a jambalaya flavored spice blend.  It’s got spicy chili pepper with paprika and herbs!

I recommend ordering the Sampler Pack because they’re just too difficult to choose between!  You’ll even get free shipping + a free 4th roll!  A total of 75 servings! 

Thanks so much Alan!  I LOVE these sheets!

OIABBJ.

Posted on

Verse of the Day:

“If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.”

– John 15:10

Ahhh. Breakfast.

Let me preface by saying, I am in NO way an oatmeal admirer, like most of you.  At least, I wasn’t until yesterday morning, when I consumed the most decadent breakfast I think I’ve had since starting the blog.  Any other time, I would prefer my cold cereal with protein milk, but I had to find out what all the raving was about for “oats in a jar” around the blog world.

1/3 C. old-fashioned oats, 3 tbsp. ff cottage cheese (stirred in at the end), cinnamon, 2 chunks of frozen banana melted and mashed in, a splash of vanilla, all stirred up in a Barney Butter jar with a dollop ontop.

It left me feeling all hot and bothered the entire way to work.  I couldn’t believe it took me this long to try it!  It’s about time I started getting a little more creative, huh?!

By the time I reached lunch, I was in no way hungry, but knew I wouldn’t be eating again until after class, so I dug into my packed stuff at my desk.

 1 C. Fiber Select to top 3/4 C. ff cottage cheese drizzled with SF syrup + a veggie platter consisting of sliced orange pepper, celery hearts (my favorite parts are the whitest!), and cherry tomatoes.

 It was perfect following a heavy breakfast.  Nice and light!  I took advantage of my breaks at work to study for my first college EXAM.  Talk about nerve-wracking.  I didn’t know how I would handle the pressure, first time back, but it wasn’t too terrible.  I felt more prepared for this one that I have EVER.  After work, from 4:10PM-5:05 I was in the campus gym slaving away on the Cross Ramp.  It was actually quite enjoyable, being that I finished my movie. 

Somewhere between showering and sitting down to study for 1/2 hour before my exam, I ate this string cheese and gala apple.  It must’ve been extra royal since it was stamped with TWO stickers 😉

6PM Rolled around and I was ready to rumble.  I finished up my exam around 6:45PM and headed home to make dinner, shower, and pack everything for the next day.

Dinner was made of some farmer’s market fresh tomatoes for an appetizer.  I think Beth would agree, summer tomatoes are where it’s AT in the flavor department.

Next course:  Nature’s Promise soy veggie burger wrap spread with 1 tbsp. roasted red pepper hummus, sliced onion, lettuce, tomato, reduced sugar heinz, and mustard on a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat 100 calorie wrap.

Red Robin, has NOTHING on meee 😉

Would you like zucchini fries with that?

Sí, Por favor.

Sliced thinly, tossed in 2 tbsp. of this stuff

and baked in the oven for about 20 minutes at 400°.

I went downstairs to upload some photos while biking on the stationary for about 20 minutes and then showered and got ready for some relaxation and bedtime.

Oh yeah, can’t forget dessert!

Hello, peachy-banana sorbet.

3 slices frozen banana blended with 1/2 C. frozen peaches + 1-2 tbsp. Organic Zero

The rest of the night was spend in relief and relaxation from my exam, watching about 1/2 hour of TV with my family before hitting the sack. 

Tomorrow is my first sandvolleyball game in weeks!  I missed one two weeks ago while I was at the beach, then we didn’t play for two weeks in a row (1 bye & one because of Independance Day!).  Hopefully I’m not too rusty!

Licks, Bites, Tastes:

-handful of baby carrots while making dinner

-some Cheerios & 1/2 C. low fat milk

-a few bites of deep chocolate Vitatop

Happy Hump Day, you all!

Telllmeanything.

1.  What are some of your favorite new-to-you products on the market right now?

XO.

Dr. Lucy’s Gluten-Free Cookies & Giveaway

Posted on

Dedicated and determined, after learning about her own child’s allergies, Dr. Lucy, M.D. discovered delicious gluten-free alternatives for people with dietary restrictions.  As a dedicated baker, mother, and M.D., Dr. Lucy knows just what it takes to embrace carefully selected raw materials, to achieve optimal results in the kitchen. 

Lucy’s cookies all completely gluten, milk, egg, almond, and peanut-free!  Safe for any consumer.   She’s made it possible for folks with restrictions to enjoy the indulgence of healthful cookies as well!

With four different varieties, Chocolate Chip, Cinnamon Thin, Oatmeal, and Sugar Cookies, you can really treat yourself to something healthy and scrumptious!  Try not to lick up the crumbs when you’re finished 😉

Each of the cookies is deliciously crunchy and satisfies even the strongest sweet tooth.  I found it completely amazing that Dr. Lucy could manage to bake something so decadent without the typical flour, eggs, milk, and sugar ingredients.  But hey, I can’t argue!  Here’s the proof!

This ingredients list was for the sugar cookies, which were in my top two favorites 🙂  You know the sand tarts that everyone makes at Christmas time?  That’s exactly what the sugar cookies tasted like!  How cool is it that there’s “garbanzo” in the ingredients list, though?!  And “crushed soy beans“?!  Count me in!

The nutritionals were pretty great, too, considering we’re talking about cookies, here!  120 calories for 3 whole cookies!  Only 1g of saturated fat and 2g protein!  These were the nutrition stats for the Oatmeal cookies but the others only varied by 10 calories and 1 or 2g of fat.  With ZERO grams transfat and ZERO cholesterol, how can you go wrong with these cookies?

The Cinnamon Thins (which were my favorite!), reminded me of a snickerdoodle cookie!  Cinnamon & sugar are a match made in heaven.  The crispy cookies almost tasted BUTTERY with the addition of cinnamon.  I liked crumbling a few overtop of my yogurt in the morning!  Nothing like dessert for breakfast! 🙂

You’ve got to get your hands on some Dr. Lucy’s cookies!  You can even shop for the online!  If you’d rather, you can find a location near you and pick some up yourself! 

Thanks SO much to Lynn for sharing Dr. Lucy’s cookies with me for the review on the blog!  They’re so tasty!  Lynn also offered to giveaway a giftbasket to one lucky reader of some Dr. Lucy’s goodies!

To enter the giveaway:

1.  Leave a comment about which Lucy’s cookie you’d most like to try.

2.  Link back on your blog about this contest & leave a comment telling me you’ve done so.

 A winner will be selected randomly on Wednesday, July 21, 2010! 

Good lucK!