Already Hump Day?!

Posted on

 Where did the first two weekdays go?! I’m not complaining, that’s for sure!

Verse of the Day:

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”- Romans 6:23

I love starting my days off with Bible verses.  It helps me keep my outlook somewhat positive the rest of the day.  No matter what happens or goes wrong, we can find comfort in the fact that we’re not going to be on this Earth forever.  It’s hard to keep things in perspective sometimes because the world tells us that THIS is life, but in the scheme of things, this is only the beginning 🙂

Drizzled with sugar free honey & sprinkled with cinnamon.

Last night upon my arrival home from work, I made myself a sweet potato baked in the microwave for some complex carbs to fuel my bike workout.  I also had a banana for a snack.

I'm loving the natural lighting!

After I biked off about 500 calories, I did a little ab work and took a break to eat dinner with the family.  My Dad made chili, so I figured I’d make my own version 🙂

Broccoli slaw, light ragu, & fat free cottage cheese.

Not exactly the most photogenic meal, but it’s beautifully colorful!  The taste of this dish reminds me of the sweet lasagna that my Aunt Sandy used to make when we came to her house.  It was AWESOME. 

Close up.

You’d be surprised how well the textures come together, too.  The process is pretty quick to make.  Just steam the bag of broccoli slaw in the microwave, combine 1/2 C. Light Ragu with 1/2 C. fat free cottage cheese, and pour over the slaw when finished steaming.  It’s really yummy because the cheese gets a lil’ bit melty.  Kind of the way it does in stuffed shells!

I also had a Flat Out Light wrap with Sonoma Jack’s cheese & Splenda to round out my meal and add some whole grains.

Flat out.

These Flat Outs are so doughy!  I can’t get enough.

After dinner, I packed my lunch for today

Strawberry Oikos with Fiber One topping and broccoli slaw with Sonoma Jack's and mustard.

The broccoli slaw may look nasty to you, but I promise it’s good!  I steam the broccoli slaw, mash in a cheese wedge, mix in a little mustard, top with salt, pepper, & a little bit of minced garlic.  Holy flavorful.  If you’re a savory fan, you should try it!

Nom, nom.

After the lunch packing was finished, I showered up and brewed some more coffee for refrigeration and iced coffee making.  For my dessert last night, I had an apple with cinnamon & raspberry peanut butter, topped with some more Fiber One! YUM.  Sorry it went unpictured.  It was down the hatch before I could snap a photo 😉

Make sure you check out Jen’s first giveaway of some cool workout tools!

One response »

  1. Glad I found your blog girl! I didn’t know they made sugar free honey and light ragu! Genius! I’ll have to keep an eye out for both 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment